The path to Kelly Cup prosperity

The ECHL is in the midst of its best-of-7 conference finals series, with the Alaska Aces and Bakersfield Condors tied 1-1 in the Western Conference and the Cincinnati Cyclones up 2-1 on the Greenville Road Warriors in the Eastern Conference.

No series this postseason has yet gone the maximum seven games. Still, it's worth noting that in seven of Alaska's previous 10 ECHL seasons, the eventual Kelly Cup champion in seven of those seasons at least once went to a decisive game in a best-of-7 or best-of-5 series.

That includes the Aces, who in 2006 beat Fresno in double overtime of Game 7 in the conference finals. Cincinnati went the distance in three of four series on the way to the 2010 title.

Here are the last 10 Kelly Cup champions, how they did in the playoffs and which ones played decisive games:


2013 Reading Royals 16-6 1 (Conference semifinals)

2012 Florida Everblades 15-3 0

2011 Alaska Aces 12-1 0

2010 Cincinnati Cyclones 15-9 3 (Conference quarters, semis and finals)

2009 South Carolina Stingrays 16-7 1 (Kelly Cup Finals)

2008 Cincinnati Cyclones 16-6 1 (Division finals)

2007 Idaho Steelheads 16-6 0

2006 Alaska Aces 16-6 1 (Conference finals)

2005 Trenton Titans 14-6 1 (Conference finals)

2004 Idaho Steelheads 13-5 1 (Division semifinals)