Alaska sports digest 5/27/14

East made quick work of Eagle River, defeating the Wolves 15-0 in three innings to open the Cook Inlet Conference softball tournament Tuesday at Albrecht Fields.

Sydney Smith, who faced just nine batters, pitched a no-hitter for the T-birds.

Chugiak 6, Dimond 4

Chugiak scored four runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to rally from a four-run deficit and defeat Dimond 6-4 on Tuesday.

Elle Gray went 2 for 2 with a triple, an RBI and two runs scored for the Mustangs, who got a pair of hits from Savannah Dodenhoff and Emmie Jennings. Dodenhoff also drove in two runs and scored once.

Kendra Robbins led Dimond with a three-run home run.

West 8, Bartlett 0

Lauren Syrup threw a one-hitter and struck out 10 to help West blank Bartlett 8-0 on Tuesday.

Lesley Bingham went 3 for 3 with an RBI, and Devonee Jackson was 2 for 3 with two RBIs for West.

Julie Tosi doubled for Bartlett's lone hit.

In other softball action, South defeated Service 6-1.


Eagle River 3, West 1

Eagle River beat West 3-1 on Tuesday to earn its first berth to the state baseball tournament June 5-7 in Sitka.

The Wolves and Eagles were each 7-3 following the Cook Inlet Conference playoffs Saturday, forcing Tuesday's one-game playoff.

Eagle River is the No. 2 seed with South, the defending state champion, securing the top spot.


Spring stage results

The Arctic Bicycle Club held its spring stage race Friday-Sunday that included a 1.9-mile Potter Valley hill climb, a criterium and time trial on Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson and a circuit race on Martin Luther King Boulevard.

Here are results from the four-race series:

Arctic Bicycle Club road division

Spring Stage Race final general classifications


Intermediate men

1) Kep Kroon; 2) Ethan Lynn; 3) Markus Doerry; 4) Justin Neff; 5) Bill Fleming; 6) Mike Hancock; 7) Keeton Kroon; 8) Norm Sharp; 9) Johnny Kay; 10) Dave Whitfield; 11) Charles Lowell; 12) John Lynn; 13) Will Oviatt; 14) Jonathan Woodman; 15) William Wright.

Intermediate women

1) KC Kent; 2) Van Le; 3) Sheryl Mohwinkel-fleming; 4) Sophie Walsh; 5) Cheryl Duda.

Junior boys

1) Anthony Morrison.

Junior girls

1) Katlyn White.

Master men (45+)

1) Andy Duenow; 2) Pete Johnson; 3) Tony Turrini; 4) Ed Sniffen; 5) Craig Walker; 6) Fred West; 7) Greg McDuffie; 8) Matt Tanaka; 9) Matt Claman; 10) Howard Levine.

Master women (45+)

1) Stacy Steinberg; 2) Janus Reyes.

Master women (60+)

1) Jane Wiggins.

Novice men

1) Tim Severson; 2) Will Mouracade; 3) Jackson Evans; 4) Michael Fischetti; 5) Jeff Campbell; 6) Shawn Kane; 7) Mark Burson; 8) Pete Jones; 9) Chris Kent; 10) Sean Berkey; 11) Bill Klemme.

Novice women

1) Julie Kane; 2) Karen Morrison; 3) Kimberly Bush; 4) Holly Krenz; 5) Gale Berkey; 6) Elizabeth Knapp; 7) Natasha Graham; 8) Lynn Kent.

Open men

1) John Sindell; 2) Richard Tilton; 3) Will Ross; 4) Jason Lamoreaux; 5) James Stull; 6) Eric Flanders; 7) Daniel Folmar; 8) Jens Beck; 9) Tom Peichel; 10) Brian Bonney; 11) Simon Lynn; 12) Christopher Knott; 13) Jim Winegarner; 14) Jason Dykstra.

Open women

1) Stacey Kolstad; 2) Christina Grande; 3) Amber Stull; 3) Sheryl Loan; 5) Kinsey Apperson; 6) Shannon Titzel.


Anchorage Daily News