East dominates CIC team, is team to beat in state softball

East High led the Cook Inlet Conference by landing five players on the first-team all-conference softball team announced Wednesday. 

East pitcher Sydney Smith was named Player of Year, while West’s Rod Hill earned Coach of the Year honors. 

Smith, a recent graduate, is 23-0 this season with 117 strikeouts and 13 walks in 112 innings pitched. 

The undefeated T-birds (24-0) enter Friday’s six-team state tournament at Cartee Fields as the top CIC seed, which earns them a first-round bye.

Cartee will also host the six-team small-school tournament.

Championship games are Saturday, with the small-school title game at 2 p.m. and the large-school championship at 2:30 p.m. If-necessary games would follow immediately.

All-Cook Inlet Conference softball team

Play of the Year — Sydney Smith, East 

Coach of the Year — Rod Hill, West 

First team 

Taria Page, East; Sierra Rosenzweig, East; Morgan Hill, East; Gabrielle Meyerson, East; Lauren Syrup, West; Devonee Jackson, West; Julia Merritt, West; Leilani Blair, South; Rachel White, South; Dakota Underwood, South; Elle Gray, Chugiak; Katy Bakker, Chugiak; Tara Thompson, Dimond; Katie Hanson, Dimond; Keaira Caldarera, Service; Heather Breslin, Bartlett; Shannon Jones, Eagle River. 

Honorable mention 

Alexis Joubert, East; Vaa Pedro, East; Nicolette Dabbs, East; Lauren Yow, East; Mikayla Teel, West; Nanea Tali, West; Lesley Bingham, West; Tristan Tolan, South, Danni Desjarlais, South; Taylor Lawson, South; Alise Arnold, Chugiak; Savannah Dodenhoff, Chugiak; Kendra Robbins, Dimond; Haley Montagna, Dimond; Kamryn Frisk, Service; Jordan Middleton, Bartlett; Allison Cameron, Eagle River. 

State softball tournament

Cartee Fields 


Large-school bracket 

1 p.m. — South vs. West; Chugiak vs. Colony 

3:30 p.m. — South-West winner vs. Lathrop; Chugiak-Colony winner vs. East 

Small-school bracket 

1 p.m. — Homer vs. Hutchison; North Pole vs. Ketchikan 

3:30 p.m. — Homer-Hutchison winner vs. Juneau; North Pole-Ketchikan winner vs. Kodiak 


Anchorage Daily News