Sitka edges South to claim state baseball title

Sitka returned to the top of the heap in Alaska high school baseball Saturday by claiming a rain-soaked 11-10 championship game victory over South in the state tournament at Moller Field in Sitka.

The title is the first for the Wolves since they claimed three straight from 2005-2007.

The teams traded the lead several times. Sitka grabbed a 4-0 lead in the first inning. South went up 6-4 in the second on Alec Valdez's grand slam but Sitka rallied for an 8-6 lead in the third.

In the top of the fifth, South, the defending champs, scored three times for a 9-8 lead. Sitka came right back in its half of the inning, scoring three times for an 11-9 lead.

South got one run back in the sixth but Sitka hung on after that.

Third place went to Wasilla, a 6-2 winner over Colony in the all-Valley third-place game. Lathrop drubbed West Valley 8-2 in the all-Fairbanks fourth-place game.

Chugiak 4, Service 3

Zach Brueggemann fanned all three batter he faced in the bottom of the seventh inning to help Chugiak Post 33 earn a 4-3 win over Service Post 28 in American Legion action Saturday.

Tied 3-3, Chugiak plated the game-winning run in the top of the seventh. Sam Hanson led Chugiak with two hits.

Ryan Caron had a pair of hits for Service, which got two RBIs from Conner Duff.

Baseball past champs


2014 Sitka South 11-10

2013 South Service 15-1

2012 Juneau Ketchikan 12-6

2011 South Dimond 14-8 (12 inn.)

2010 Juneau Dimond 9-7

2009 Dimond Chugiak 4-1

2008 Juneau Sitka 9-2

2007 Sitka Juneau 6-2

2006 Sitka Chugiak 8-3

2005 Sitka Homer 9-6 (14 inn.)

2004 Kodiak Chugiak 3-2 (8 inn.)

2003 Juneau Bartlett 7-3

2002 Juneau Lathrop 9-3

2001 Service Wasilla 20-8

2000 East Juneau 3-1

Anchorage Daily News