Thornsley fastest in Iron Man event

Greg Thornsley won the 2013 Iron Man Championships at Alaska Raceway Park on Sunday. The race was originally scheduled for Labor Day last year but was postponed due to rain.

Chugiak’s Roger Sikorski won his first championship trophy in the open air category, reaching 88.88 miles per hour on his motorcycle. 

Alaska Raceway Park 

Sunday’s results 

Top sportsman — 1) Greg Thornsley; 2) Amanda Reimann. Mod ET — 1) Robert VanDenBerg; 2) Monte Soper. Super ET — 1) Keith MacDonald; 2) Pam VanDenBerg. Open Air — 1) Roger Sikorski; 2) Ian Lester. Junior dragster — 1) Connor Bowlus; 2) Jesse Bodenstadt.

Anchorage Daily News