The Seawolves won the Game 2 finale of the Governor's Cup, 4-1, at Sullivan Arena on Saturday night, but the Nanooks won the postgame shootout to retain possession of the chalice that goes to the winner of the annual two-game battle between Alaska's two college hockey teams.Doyle Woody
Kinsey Loan anchored a come-from-behind win for the Chugiak girls, and the Service boys posted an emphatic victory in Saturday's relay races at the state cross-country skiing championships at Birch Hill in Fairbanks, where the Mustangs and Cougars captured the team championships.
West's Devon Bookert finished two steals shy of a quadruple-double Saturday, racking 33 points, 11 rebounds, 10 assists and eight steals in an 88-70 win over Eagle River in a Cook Inlet Conference boys basketball game at West.
Dimond's Sierra Afoa led all scorers with 23 points to help her team dominate Bartlett 80-34 in a Cook Inlet Conference girls basketball game at Dimond.
Holly Brooks of Anchorage was one of three Americans who finished in the top 30 of the women's 15-kilometer pursuit race Saturday at the World Nordic Ski Championships in Oslo, Norway.
The Seavey family could be mushing to another milestone victory. Conway Seavey, the 14-year-old younger brother of reigning Yukon Quest champion Dallas Seavey and the son of 2004 Iditarod champion Mitch Seavey, grabbed the early lead in the Junior Iditarod on Saturday.
Highlighted by Lukas Ebner's victory in the men's 20-kilometer classical, UAA wrapped up the NCAA West Regional and Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association Championships in Utah by qualifying 11 skiers for next month's NCAA championships.
Nine UAA basketball players -- five women and four men -- were among the 50 athletes selected to the Great Northwest Athletic Conference's All-Academic teams.
What's happening in sports and recreation around Anchorage
Tyler Huntington of Fairbanks and Chris Olds of Eagle River repeated as Iron Dog champions early Saturday evening, passing the team of Todd Palin and Eric Quam in the final 100 miles of the 2,000-mile snowmachine race across Alaska.