Skip to main Content
Alaska Beat

Alaska author wins UK book award for breakout novel

  • Author: Craig Medred
  • Updated: September 27, 2016
  • Published December 5, 2012

Palmer, Alaska, author Eowyn Ivey, the inventive voice behind the breakout novel "The Snow Child," has been named the winner of the International Author of the Year award from the UK National Book Awards.

Ivey's win puts her among famous past winners of the award, including Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan. Previous to this award win, Ivey's novel hit the No. 1 bestseller spot in Norway and gained extensive praise across the English-speaking world. She was one of six international finalists whittled down from a list of 50 nominated by book industry insiders.

"The Snow Child" takes its inspiration from a fairy tale about a child born from snow. Ivey's modern, adult retelling centers on Jack and Mabel, a pair of hardy homesteaders in 1920s Alaska, recent transplants from the Northeast United States, whos lives take a magical turn. (Read more)

The UK National Book Awards provides 11 categories in which to acknowledge and showcase the best writing from England and abroad, including books with popular appeal, critical acclaim and commercial success. The winners of each category are chosen by votes from the National Book Awards, an academy of over 750 industry experts.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.