Skip to main Content
Alaska News

July 4th fireworks: Where you legally can and can’t have a personal pyrotechnic show

Thinking about buying some fireworks and blasting them off into the Alaska skies to celebrate July 4?

If you live in Southcentral, you might want to think again. In some places, the personal pyrotechnic show could leave you with a sizable fine.

Here's a breakdown on where personal fireworks are legal and where they're not:

Anchorage: Illegal

Fireworks — including sparklers — are illegal in the Municipality of Anchorage, including Eagle River and Girdwood, and the "possession, use or sale of fireworks is strictly prohibited," according to the Anchorage Fire Department.

Penalties for the illegal use of fireworks include confiscation and a $300 fine.

Mat-Su Borough: Illegal except on private land in Houston

Fireworks are prohibited by the Mat-Su Borough, including in the cities of Palmer and Wasilla. Penalties for the illegal use of fireworks include fines of up to $500 per violation, according to borough law.

People can use fireworks on private land in Houston with permission from the landowner, however.

But fireworks are prohibited by state law in Houston when the Alaska Division of Forestry issues a burn ban, according to the borough. The division had not issued any burn bans by Friday. You can check the latest burn bans here.

Kenai Peninsula Borough: Illegal

The use and sale of fireworks is prohibited by the borough, which covers unincorporated areas like Hope, Kasilof, Sterling, Cooper Landing and many others. Incorporated cities have their own rules; Homer, Kachemak, Seldovia and Soldotna ban fireworks. Kenai allows fireworks only on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Seward is currently dealing with fireworks through its noise ordinance and strongly discourages any use within the city.

Valdez: Temporarily legal

Valdez city law makes the use of fireworks legal from 10 p.m. July 3 until the end of July 4.

Cordova: Illegal

Fireworks are banned in the city without a permit, but sparklers are allowed under city law.

Whittier: Temporarily legal

Fireworks are allowed from 10 a.m. on July 3 through 1 a.m. on the Fourth, but must be set off 100 feet away from residential areas, according to the city.

Egan Millard contributed to this report.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.

Comments