Leaders in Anchorage election remain unchanged in Wednesday’s updated results

Anchorage election results posted Wednesday show no changes to the leaders in the race for the Anchorage mayor’s office and for four school board seats.

Dave Bronson was still leading with 33% of the vote, and Forrest Dunbar had just over 31% of the vote. The two are preparing for a runoff election on May 11.

Kelly Lessens and Pat Higgins, both endorsed by the Anchorage Education Association teachers union, are hanging on to their leads in two school board races.

For school board seat B, Lessens has 25,070 votes to opponent Judy Eledge’s 24,801 votes. For school board seat E, Higgins has 21,169 votes to Sami Graham’s 20,759 votes.

Other Anchorage election results also remained unchanged Wednesday after more than 74,500 ballots had been counted.

Dora Wilson is keeping her lead in the school board race for seat F, and Carl Jacobs is leading in the school board race for seat G against current school board president Elisa Vakalis. Wilson and Jacobs are also endorsed by the teachers union.

District 4 voters are still rejecting an initiative to recall Anchorage Assembly Chair Felix Rivera. It had 43% of the vote on Wednesday.

Two of the 11 propositions on the ballot, Proposition 1 and Proposition 8, are also still failing. Proposition 1 is a $6.9 million bond proposal that would fund various capital projects. Proposition 8 is a $3.9 million bond proposal to fund new Anchorage police fleet vehicles and other improvements.

Proposition 4, a tax levy to help the Anchorage Police Department replace aging technology and supply officers with body cameras, is succeeding with 54% of the vote.