Skip to main Content

Suzanne LaFrance named new acting chair of Anchorage Assembly

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: June 9
  • Published June 9

Anchorage Assembly member Suzanne LaFrance participates in a special Assembly meeting Friday, Oct. 16, 2020. (Loren Holmes / ADN)

Members of the Anchorage Assembly on Wednesday voted to make Suzanne LaFrance the new acting chair.

LaFrance, who represents South Anchorage, was nominated by the Assembly’s former acting chair, Felix Rivera.

The Assembly also voted to make member Christopher Constant, who represents downtown, acting vice chair.

Constant was nominated by member Meg Zaletel. Assembly member Jamie Allard had also nominated member Crystal Kennedy for the acting vice chair position.

The changes come ahead of Mayor-elect Dave Bronson taking office July 1. At that point, Acting Mayor Austin Quinn-Davidson becomes Assembly chair and the Assembly will once again vote to reorganize.