Skip to main Content
Alaska News

Polls open across Alaska until 8 p.m.

  • Author: Alaska News
  • Updated: July 8, 2016
  • Published August 19, 2014

Alaskans go to the polls Tuesday to select candidates for the general election and decide whether to repeal the state's current oil tax regime. Polls will be open to registered voters from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. (Alaska does not offer same-day voter registration for state races.) Absentee ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday or cast electronically by 8 p.m.

Alaska law offers political parties the option to close their primary contests. Voters on Tuesday will be offered three ballot options:

• Alaska Democratic Party, Alaska Libertarian Party, Alaskan Independence Party. Any registered voter may select this ballot.

• Alaska Republican Party. Only voters registered as Republican, nonpartisan or undeclared may select this ballot.

• Ballot measure only. Any registered voter may select this ballot.

To locate your polling place, see a sample ballot, or find other election information, including candidates, districts and the full text of Ballot Measure 1, visit To find your polling place by phone, call toll-free: 888-383-8683. Yup'ik language assistance is available; call 866-954-8683 for more information.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.