Skip to main Content

Here are the 33 people who want to become the next Anchorage School Board member

  • Author: Tegan Hanlon
  • Updated: October 11, 2018
  • Published October 10, 2018

Thirty-three people are in the running to fill the empty seat on the seven-member Anchorage School Board, the policymaking body of the state's largest school district.

The board seat opened up in late September after Bettye Davis, 80, resigned from the job because of her health and to spend more time with her family.

Applicants had until 5 p.m. Wednesday to apply for the vacated school board spot. The applicants include some Alaskans who have run unsuccessfully for school board in the past, as well as a former school board president, Kameron Perez-Verdia, who didn't seek re-election in 2017.

The six current school board members will interview the applicants Oct. 20, at a public meeting at the Anchorage School District Education Center. The meeting starts at 10 a.m. The board members will pick an applicant by a majority vote that day.

The new board member will be sworn in Oct. 22 and serve through April 2019, when Davis' three-year term would have expired. Anchorage voters will then decide in the municipal election who they want to fill the board seat. School board members are elected in area-wide, nonpartisan races.

Board members earn $27,977 a year, while the board president earns $31,810. Those totals include a $6,500 medical allowance, according to the school district.

The Anchorage School Board last appointed a board member in 2013, selecting Perez-Verdia to fill the seat vacated by Gretchen Guess. Guess resigned from the board for a job move to Florida. Anchorage voters elected Perez-Verdia to a three-year term in 2014.

Here's the full list of school board applicants, posted on the school district's website Wednesday evening:

Daniel Alfalla
Stephen Augustin
Gloria Bamberg-Merritt
Johnico Bashford-Blumer
Margo Bellamy
Alan Brightman
Rovennia Bullock
Dawn Bundick
Archibald Campbell
Jean Carey
Joey Caterinichio
Mark Foster
Sharon Gibbons
Limalau Kaneyo Hirata
Selena Hopkins-Kendall
Tasha Hotch
Lisa Huffman
Phil Isley
Kelly Lessens
Minoo Minaei
David Nashlund
David Nees
Judy Norton-Eledge
Kameron Perez-Verdia
Robin Phillips
Wayne Ronsman
Nikki Rose
Kay Schuster
James Smallwood
Jeremiah Snyder
Henry Tashjian
Jessica Tonseth
David Wight

Editor's note: This story has been updated with an additional applicant for Anchorage School Board, Dawn Bundick. Katy Grant, school board secretary, said the emailed application was sent to her spam folder. Bundick's name was added to the online list of applicants Thursday.

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.