Skip to main Content

As the University of Alaska restructures, we want to hear from readers. What do you want to know?

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: August 1, 2019
  • Published August 1, 2019

The University of Alaska Anchorage campus, photographed on Friday, July 12, 2019. (Loren Holmes / ADN)

The University of Alaska Board of Regents has voted to move toward consolidation in the face of a $135 million state funding cut. Regents on Tuesday tasked UA President Jim Johnsen with drafting a plan that shows what the public university system would look like if it merged its three universities into one accredited university with multiple locations.

The UA system currently includes three separately accredited universities: the University of Alaska Anchorage, the University of Alaska Fairbanks and the University of Alaska Southeast in Juneau. There are also about a dozen community campuses and the Fairbanks-based statewide administration.

As we continue our reporting, we want to hear from you. Use the form below or email reporter Tegan Hanlon. Your questions will help inform our coverage.