Skip to main Content

Election results for Canada's North

  • Author: Eilís Quinn
  • Updated: September 28, 2016
  • Published October 21, 2015

Canadians went to the polls on Monday, October 19 and electing a Liberal majority government for the first time since 2000.

The Liberal wave also swept across Canada's North, where the party took every riding but one.

Here's a quick Eye on the Arctic rundown of the results in Canada's northernmost ridings.


Winner: Larry Bagnell (Liberal). Among other issues, Bagnell campaigned on improving relations with Yukon's First Nations. Bagnell previosly served as Yukon MP from 2000-2011.

Defeated: Ryan Leef (Conservative Party of Canada). Leef was first elected as Yukon MP in 2011. Leef campaigned on issues like the economy and terrorism and promised airport upgrades in Dawson City, Yukon's second biggest community.

Northwest Territories

Winner: Michael McLeod (Liberal). During his campaign, McLeod stressed the Liberal party's commitment to stronger relations with Canada's First Nations as well as improved infrastructure.

Defeated: Dennis Bevington (New Democratic Party). Bevington was first elected in 2006 and has represented the riding ever since. Bevington campaigned against the high cost of living in Canada's North and criticized the Nutrition North program put in place by the Conservative government.


Winner: Hunter Tootoo (Liberal). Tootoo campaigned on the Liberal promise to invest $40 million in the Nutrition North program over four years as well as increasing benefits for northern residents.

Defeated: Leona Aglukkaq (Conservative Party of Canada). Aglukkaq had represented Canada's eastern Arctic riding of Nunavut since 2008. Aglukkaq campaigned on her party's investments in northern infrastructure and work on fighting the EU seal ban.


This federal riding includes the Inuit self-governing region of Nunavik.

Winner: (Incumbent) Roméo Saganash (New Democratic Party). Saganash has represented the riding since 2011. Saganash focused his campaign on improving housing and infrastructure in the North.


This riding in the Atlantic Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador includes the Inuit self-governing region of Nunatsiavut.

Winner: (Incumbent) Yvonne Jones (Liberal Party). Among other issues, Jones campaigned on retooling Canada's controversial C-51 anti-terror bill that many First Nations and Inuit protestors worry they could be targeted by.

This story is posted on Alaska Dispatch News as part of Eye on the Arctic, a collaborative partnership between public and private circumpolar media organizations.

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.