A Fairbanks English teacher was elected president of Alaska's National Education Association, the 13,000-member teachers union, this week.

Tim Parker will start his two-year term on July 7, replacing outgoing president Ron Fuhrer, who was elected in 2012 and again in 2014, said NEA-Alaska spokesman Zachary Mannix Thursday.

Parker defeated Andy Holleman, current president of the Anchorage Education Association. Mannix would not reveal the total number of union members who cast an electronic ballot in this year's statewide election or the number of votes Parker received. He said it is against the union's policy to release the information.

Parker currently serves as NEA-Alaska's state director. He has taught in Fairbanks for nearly 18 years.