Alaska News

20 people file to seek Assembly seats in April 4 election

Twenty people have filed as Anchorage Assembly candidates in the April election, with the most vying for open seats downtown and in Chugiak-Eagle River.

When registration closed at the end of last week, the biggest number of candidates had turned out to replace downtown Assemblyman Patrick Flynn, who is barred by term limits from running again. Six people filed for the downtown race. 

Four people declared their candidacies in Chugiak-Eagle River to replace Assemblyman Bill Starr, who is also reaching his term limit.

Among them is Fred Dyson, a former assemblyman and state senator, who filed late last week. The other Chugiak-Eagle River candidates are John Laurence Brassell, Gretchen Wehmhoff and Patrick Donnelly.

[See the latest list of candidates for Anchorage Assembly and School Board]

Two incumbents, Tim Steele of West Anchorage and Pete Petersen of East Anchorage, both seeking second terms, are defending their spots on the Assembly. South Anchorage and Midtown have open seats.

Meanwhile, nine people signed up to run for two open Anchorage School Board seats. Five candidates registered for Seat C and four registered for Seat D. The seats are areawide.

Candidates have until the end of the business day Tuesday to drop out. At that point, the ballot will be set.

The city election is April 4.

Devin Kelly

Devin Kelly was an ADN staff reporter.