Skip to main Content

Alaska House elects temporary speaker

  • Author: Associated Press
  • Updated: January 17
  • Published January 17

Rep. Neal Foster, D-Nome, on the first day of the legislative session on Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019 at the Alaska State Capitol in Juneau. (Loren Holmes / ADN)

JUNEAU -- The Alaska House has elected a temporary speaker.

On a vote of 35-4, House members supported Nome Democratic Rep. Neal Foster for the job.

The only other nomination for temporary speaker was Big Lake Republican Rep. Mark Neuman.

One of Foster's first actions in the role was to recognize the nomination of Republican Sharon Jackson for a vacant House seat and to swear her in.

Gov. Mike Dunleavy appointed Jackson to replace Republican Nancy Dahlstrom, who won the Eagle River-area seat in November but became Dunleavy’s corrections commissioner before the legislative session started.


Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.