Politics

How to watch live as Mary Peltola is sworn into Congress on Tuesday

Mary Peltola, U.S. Captiol, U.S. House, representative-elect

U.S. Rep.-elect Mary Peltola will be sworn into office Tuesday, becoming the first Alaska Native to serve in Congress and the first woman to hold Alaska’s lone seat in the House of Representatives.

C-SPAN will broadcast the official swearing-in ceremony on the House floor at approximately 2:30 p.m. Alaska Daylight Time, or 6:30 p.m. Eastern. A House livestream is also available here. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi will preside as Peltola takes the oath of office.

Immediately after the ceremony on the House floor, a second swearing-in with family and media is scheduled for 2:50 p.m. Alaska time, or 6:50 p.m. Eastern. A livestream will be available from the House speaker’s office.

After the swearing-in ceremonies, Peltola will likely vote on the House floor for the first time.

Earlier in the day, Peltola was scheduled to attend an event at the White House to celebrate the signing of the Inflation Reduction Act, a climate, tax and health bill that passed in a partisan vote with all congressional Republicans opposed to the measure.

Before she’s sworn in, Peltola is expected to make a brief appearance at a campaign watch party in Washington, D.C., that will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. Eastern at Stadium Sports, a bar in the District. That event is open to the public. Then after her swearing-in ceremony, the Alaska Federation of Natives will host an invitation-only reception in D.C. from 7 to 10 p.m. Eastern (3 to 6 p.m. Alaska time) that a Peltola spokesman said she is planning to attend.

In Anchorage, another watch party that’s open to the public is scheduled to begin at 1:30 p.m. Alaska time at her campaign headquarters in Spenard.

Related stories:

As Peltola prepares for swearing in, she hires chief of staff to the late Rep. Don Young

A shared win and warm homecoming in Bethel as Mary Peltola heads to Congress

ADN Politics podcast: A conversation with Mary Peltola

Riley Rogerson

Riley Rogerson is a reporter for the Anchorage Daily News based in Washington, D.C., and is a fellow with Report for America. Contact her at rrogerson@adn.com.

Sponsored