Alaska Legislature

How lawmakers in Juneau voted on veto override

JUNEAU — With 22 Republicans absent from the state Capitol, the Alaska Legislature on Wednesday failed to garner 45 votes to override Gov. Mike Dunleavy’s decision to veto $444 million from the state operating budget.

The final vote was 37-1 in favor of a veto override. The lone no vote came from Rep. Tammie Wilson, R-North Pole. The terms used here are those from the official tally as recorded by the Senate Secretary and House Clerk. Legislators in Wasilla disagree with the statement that they are absent. They contend they are in the legal and rightful location of the special session.

Voting yes in Juneau: Speaker of the House Bryce Edgmon, I-Dillingham; House Majority Leader Steve Thompson, R-Fairbanks; Rep. Matt Claman, D-Anchorage; Rep. Harriet Drummond, D-Anchorage; Rep. Zack Fields, D-Anchorage; Rep. Neal Foster, D-Nome; Rep. Sara Hannan, D-Juneau; Rep. Grier Hopkins, D-Fairbanks; Rep. Jennifer Johnston, R-Anchorage; Rep. Andy Josephson, D-Anchorage; Rep. Gary Knopp, R-Kenai; Rep. Chuck Kopp, R-Anchorage; Rep. Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins, D-Sitka; Rep. Bart LeBon, R-Fairbanks; Rep. John Lincoln, D-Kotzebue; Rep. Dan Ortiz, I-Ketchikan; Rep. Ivy Spohnholz, D-Anchorage; Rep. Andi Story, D-Juneau; Rep. Louise Stutes, R-Kodiak; Rep. Geran Tarr, D-Anchorage; Rep. Chris Tuck, D-Anchorage; Rep. Adam Wool, D-Fairbanks; Rep. Tiffany Zulkosky, D-Bethel.

Senate President Cathy Giessel, R-Anchorage; Senate Minority Leader Tom Begich, D-Anchorage; Sen. Chris Birch, R-Anchorage; Sen. Click Bishop, R-Fairbanks; Sen. John Coghill, R-North Pole; Sen. Elvi Gray-Jackson, D-Anchorage; Senate Majority Leader Lyman Hoffman, D-Bethel; Sen. Scott Kawasaki, D-Fairbanks; Sen. Jesse Kiehl, D-Juneau; Sen. Donny Olson, D-Golovin; Sen. Bert Stedman, R-Sitka; Sen. Gary Stevens, R-Kodiak; Sen. Natasha von Imhof, R-Anchorage; Sen. Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage.

Voting no in Juneau: Rep. Tammie Wilson, R-North Pole.

Excused absent: Rep. George Rauscher, R-Sutton; Sen. Peter Micciche, R-Soldotna; Sen. David Wilson, R-Wasilla; Sen. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer.

Unexcused absent in Wasilla: House Minority Leader Lance Pruitt, R-Anchorage; Rep. Ben Carpenter, R-Nikiski; Rep. David Eastman, R-Wasilla; Rep. Sharon Jackson, R-Eagle River; Rep. DeLena Johnson, R-Palmer; Rep. Gabrielle LeDoux, R-Anchorage; Rep. Kelly Merrick, R-Eagle River; Rep. Mark Neuman, R-Big Lake; Rep. Sara Rasmussen, R-Anchorage; Rep. Josh Revak, R-Anchorage; Rep. Laddie Shaw, R-Anchorage; Rep. Colleen Sullivan-Leonard, R-Wasilla; Rep. Dave Talerico, R-Healy; Rep. Cathy Tilton, R-Wasilla; Rep. Sarah Vance, R-Homer.

Sen. Mia Costello, R-Anchorage; Sen. Lora Reinbold, R-Eagle River; Sen. Mike Shower, R-Wasilla.

Related stories:

With 22 lawmakers absent, Alaska Legislature fails to override Gov. Mike Dunleavy’s budget vetoes

Former Alaska governors urge budget compromise, talks and ‘drawing a gun’ by threatening no PFDs

Former lawmaker sues legislative leaders over Juneau special session location

Anchorage Assembly urges veto override, citing ‘immediate and dire economic consequences’

Alaska college students lose state scholarships amid uncertainty of obscure budget vote

Budget veto could put University of Alaska at risk of losing accreditation, agency warns

Anti-veto ralliers say they’ll fight to the end