Skip to main Content

2014 Alaska legislative primary results

  • Author: Alaska News
  • Updated: July 8, 2016
  • Published August 20, 2014

Tuesday's primary election marked modest changes to Alaska's Legislature, with two incumbents losing seats. Meanwhile, several other close races will affect the landscape of the November general elections. With all precincts reporting in all but a handful of these races, here are the results of Tuesday's contested legislative primaries:

• In House District 3, Tammie Wilson topped Doug Isaacson 55-45 percent, or 1,553 votes to 1,253.

• In House District 9, Jim Colver won a three-way race with 1,140 votes or about 39 percent, trailed by George Rauscher with 32 percent (936 votes). Incumbent Eric Feige came in third with 30 percent (877).

• In House District 1, Gregory Bringhurst beat Jomo Stewart 73-27 percent (1,104 votes to 415) in the Republican primary.

• In House District 2, Larry Murakami topped fellow Democrat Uriah Nalikak by 70-30 percent (389 votes to Nalikak's 165) to win his primary.

• In House District 6, Denali Borough Mayor Dave Talerico held a commanding lead in the Republican primary in an open seat, over Thomas Dunning, getting 1,152 votes to Dunning's 805 -- a 59-41 percent lead. A single precinct of the district's 33 hadn't reported as of early Wednesday morning.

• In Senate District F, incumbent Republican Bill Stoltze beat primary challenger DeLena Johnson, 4,525 votes to 1,874, or 71 percent to 29 percent.

• In House District 22, Republican Liz Vazquez squeezed out victory in one of the closest primaries over Sherri Jackson, garnering 1,504 votes to Jackson's 1,351, for a 53-to-47-percent win.

• In House District 21, Anand Dubey received 1,496 votes (or 60 percent), beating out Republican primary opponent Matt Fagnani, who received 984 (40 percent).

• In House District 32, Louise B. Stutes triumphed in a three-way Republican primary, taking 802 votes, or 44 percent of those cast. Rich Walker finished second with 515 (29 percent) and Carol Austerman came in third receiving 488 votes (27 percent).

• In House District 36, Chere L. Klein was winning a tight three-way contest for the Republican nomination, earning 869 votes (or 44 percent), trailed by Agnes C. Moran with 622 votes (32 percent) and Patti Mackey with 480 (24 percent). One of the 10 precincts in House District 36 remained uncounted early Wednesday morning.

• In House District 40, Ben Nageak held a narrow lead over challenger Dean Westlake in the Democratic primary, with 998 votes to Westlake's 900, a spread that put Nageak up by about 53 percent to 47.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.