Skip to main Content

Alaska Dispatch News co-hosting debates on oil taxes tonight, Tuesday

  • Author: Alaska News
  • Updated: July 8, 2016
  • Published August 11, 2014

Alaska Dispatch News is co-hosting two debates on the oil-tax ballot measure this week.

The first, co-hosted with KTVA-Channel 11, will be Monday from 7-9 p.m. at the Wendy Williamson Auditorium on the University of Alaska Anchorage campus. Vote Yes panelists will be Jane Angvik with the YES campaign; Chancy Croft, former state senator; and state Sen. Bill Wielechowski. Vote No panelists will be Kara Moriarty, Alaska Oil and Gas Association president and CEO; Andrew Halcro., president of the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce; and state Sen. Lesil McGuire. It will be broadcast from 7-8 p.m. on KTVA and streamed from 7-9 p.m. on and

The second debate, hosted by ADN and the UAA Seawolf Debate Program, will be Tuesday from 5:30-7 p.m. at Bear Tooth Theatrepub. The moderator will be UAA debate coach Steve Johnson. Speaking in favor of the repeal will be Croft and Wielechowski. Opposing it will be Mark Hamilton, president emeritus of the University of Alaska; and Doug Smith, CEO of Little Red Services. Admission is $15, with proceeds supporting the Seawolf debating program. It will be live-streamed at

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.