Skip to main Content

Photos: 2012 Alaska primary elections

  • Author:
  • Updated: September 27, 2016
  • Published August 28, 2012

On Tuesday, Alaskan voters went to the polls in a pivotal primary election to decide the makeup of the Alaska Legislature, as well as a ballot measure that would revive the state's Coastal Zone Management Program. In Anchorage, candidates spent the day waving signs, riding Segways and even throwing candy from a tricked-out truck.

RELATED: Alaska candidates hit streets for final push

In this year's election, a massive redistricting means that 59 of 60 seats in the Alaska Legislature are up for grabs. Here are some fun facts about the election:

RELATED: Alaska Primary Elections: By the Numbers

Average number of Alaskans represented by one state senator: 31,346

Average number of Alaskans per House representative: 15,673

Change in registered Democrats in Alaska since 1998: -14 percent (approximately 4,000)

Change in registered Republicans in Alaska since 1998: 27 percent (more than 22,000)

Age range of largest registered voting bloc: 25-34 years old

Number of registered voters over the age of 75: 20,389

Number of registered teenage voters: 13,501

Number of votes by which U.S. Rep. Young beat Sean Parnell in 2008 primary: 304

Number of times voters have sent U.S. Rep. Don Young to Washington D.C.: 21*

* including the special election in 1973 that was his first win

Percentage of Alaska Native constituents in Mountain View and Downtown Anchorage: 4.21

Percentage of Alaska Native constituents in Bering Straits / Interior Villages and the Arctic: 82.11

Bills introduced in 2011-2012 legislative session: 597

Bills passed in 2011-2012 legislative session: 115

Approximate number of paid election workers: 2,255 - 2,693

Amount of money Alaska earned from oil and gas production and surcharges in 2011: $4.6 billion

Amount of money Alaska earned from other oil-related taxes in 2011: $757 million

Lowest election primary turnout since 1974: 17.2 % (in year 2000)

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.