Photos: 2014 primary elections in Alaska

Alaskans headed to the polls Tuesday for statewide primary elections.

Among the most contested of these races was the Republican primary for U.S. Senate and Ballot Measure 1. The GOP primary is a three-way race between former candidate and tea party favorite Joe Miller, who lost narrowly to a write-in bid from Alaska's senior Sen. Lisa Murkowski, current Lt. Gov. Mead Treadwell, and former Department of Natural Resources Commissioner Dan Sullivan.

Ballot Measure 1 pitted backers of the state's new oil-tax regime, often referred to as the "More Alaska Production Act," or Senate Bill 21 -- the legislation that created it -- against proponents of the measure, which would repeal the legislation and reinstate ACES ("Alaska's Clear and Equitable Share"), the previous oil tax system.

Campaigns were out in full force, waving signs and seeking one last chance to influence voters, especially commuters headed past busy intersections in Midtown.

READ MORE: Alaska votes 2014: Primary election day arrives