iditarod header

Iditarod celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2012. The race to Nome starts the first weekend of March. This year, the youngest champion in race history, Dallas Seavey, was the first musher to Nome, winning a thrilling battle with Aliy Zirkle, who was aiming to become the first woman to win since the late Susan Butcher.