Skip to main Content

24 teams, including three of the last five winners, set to begin 2,000-mile Iron Dog

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: February 13
  • Published February 13

A team hits trail at the 2017 Iron Dog start at Big Lake. (Bill Roth / ADN archives)

Given a reprieve after financial woes nearly doomed the race last summer, the Iron Dog snowmachine race begins this weekend with 24 teams chasing a $100,000 cash purse.

Racers will leave Deshka Landing near Willow beginning at 11 a.m. Sunday. They’ll travel about 2,000 miles to Fairbanks by way of Nome, with racers hitting the finish line in Fairbanks sometime during daylight hours on Saturday, Feb. 23.

The field includes three of the last five championship teams — defending champions Mike Morgan and Chris Olds, 2016 champions Tyler Akelstad and Tyson Johnson, and 2014 winners Todd Minnick and Nick Olstad. Morgan and Olds are driving Polaris machines and the other two teams will be aboard Ski-Doos.

Financial issues almost led to the cancellation of the race, but the board of directors in August decided to stage a race this year. The Iron Dog still lacks a title sponsor, but Donlin Gold and Northern Air Cargo are still on board and smaller donations made since August’s decision have kept the race afloat, first-year executive director John Woodbury said earlier this year.

Gone is the ceremonial start in Anchorage, as well as the Flying Iron freestyle show that used to be part of the pre-race festitivies.

Still on tap is the safety expo, which this year is Friday from 1-8 p.m. at the Menard Center in Wasilla.

At 10 a.m. Friday, five trail-class teams will leave Southport Marina in Big Lake for a noncompetitive journey that ends in Nome.

2019 pro-class racers

Team No. 3 — Steven Boney-Oliver Unruh, Arctic Cat

Team No. 4 — Ben Miebs-Dan Thibtaul, Ski-Doo

Team No. 5 — Zach Weisz-Brett Lapham, Polaris

Team No. 6 — Brad George-Adam Drinkhouse, Ski-Doo

Team No. 8 — Tyler Akelstad-Tyson Johnson, Ski-Doo

Team No. 10 — Mike Morgan-Chris Olds, Polaris

Team No. 12 — Ken Kleewein-Kruz Kleewein, Polaris

Team No. 14 — Casey Boylan-Bryan Leslie, Ski-Doo

Team No. 15 — Micah Huss-West Selby, Arctic Cat

Team No. 16 — Nick Olstad-Todd Minnick, Ski-Doo

Team No. 17 — Corey Berg-Ray Chvastasz, Polaris

Team No. 20 — Chad Gueco-Scott Faeo, Ski-Doo

Team No. 25 — Dietrich Nikolai-Nicholas Reader, Polaris

Team No. 26 — Ivar Carlson-Robert Masson, Polaris

Team No. 29 — Danielle Levine-Larry Levine, Polaris

Team No. 30 — Blake Elder-Kyle Conner, Arctic Cat

Team No. 31 — Bobby Menne-Troy Conlon, Ski-Doo

Team No. 32 — Kelly Sommer-George Mountain, Polaris

Team No. 35 — Jerrod Vaughn-Mike Oliver, Polaris

Team No. 39 — Shane Barber-Cody Barber, Polaris

Team No. 42 — Amos Cruise-Jarvis Miller, Ski-Doo

Team. No. 44 — Michael Lilly-Kyle Krause, Arctic Cat

Team No. 45 — Thomas Baugartner-Barney Anselment, Ski-Doo

Team No. 49 — Klint VanWinderden-Andrew Gumley, Polaris

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.