Skip to main Content

Europeans dominate college freestyle race at Kincaid

  • Author: Alaska News
  • Updated: September 28, 2016
  • Published February 27, 2015

European skiers dominated the first day of the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association championships Friday at Kincaid Park.

Colorado's Mads Stroem and New Mexico's Emilie Cedervaern won the freestyle cross-country ski championships.

Stroem, a sophomore from Oslo, Norway, completed the men's 10-kilometer course in 22 minutes, 49.3 seconds to beat teammate and fellow Norwegian Rune Malo Oedegaard across the line by almost 19 seconds. Denver University's Dag Frode Trolleboe -- another Norwegian -- was third, one second behind Oedegaard.

UAA's Alex Mahoney broke the Norwegian stranglehold on the men's standings with a fourth-place finish. Mahoney, a freshman from Alberta, finished in 23:21.7. Other top performers for the Seawolves included Clement Molliet of France in sixth and Italy's Mario Roncador in 15th.

Forrest Mahlen, a Montana State senior from Anchorage, finished seventh.

In the women's 5-kilometer race, New Mexico's Cedervaern won in 13:40.5, besting teammate Eva Severrus by almost nine seconds. Cedervaern is a junior from Sweden, while Severrus is sophomore from Slovenia. Colorado's Petra Hyncicova, a freshman from the Czech Republic, finished third.

UAA's Manon Locatelli, a junior from France, was the top Seawolf finisher in fifth place. UAA's Kathrin Schratt, a freshman from Germany, was 11th. APU Nordic Ski Team's Lauren Fritz, who is from Eagle River, finished seventh.

Racing at the RIMSA Championships will continue Saturday with classic technique races scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. at Kincaid.

RMISA Championships

Cross-country skiing

Men's 10-kilometer

1) Mads Stroem, CU, 22:49.3; 2) Rune Malo Oedegaard, CU, 23:08.1; 3) Dag Frode Trolleboe, DU, 23:09.1; 4) Alex Mahoney, UAA, 23:21.7; 5) Aku Nikander, UNM, 23:28.4; 6) Clement Molliet, UAA, 23:28.5; 7) Sawyer Kesselheim, MSU, 23:30.7; 8) Forrest Mahlen, MSU, 23:35.8; 9) Moritz Madlener, DU, 23:37.0; 10) Emil Johansson, CU, 23:39.4. Other UAA/APU -- 15) Mario Roncador, UAA, 23:53.0; 17) Etienne Richard, UAA, 23:56.1; 25) Fischer Gangemi, APU, 24:37.9; 28) Andre Lovett, APU, 24:44.3; 29) Jack Novak, APU, 24:44.4; 30) Andrew Arnold, UAA, 24:58.0; 31) John Farr, UAA, 25:04.6; 34) Brandon Brewster, UAA, 25:30.3; 38) Davis Dunlap, UAA, 27:03.5; 39) Abe Meyerhofer, APU, 27:32.3;

Women's 5-kilometer

1) Emilie Cedervaern, UNM, 13:40.5; 2) Eva Severrus, UNM, 13:49.3; 3) Petra Hyncicova, CU, 13:51.1; 4) Veronika Mayerhoffer, UU, 14:03.6; 5) Manon Locatelli, UAA, 14:10.3; 6) Sloan Storey, UU, 14:15.1; 7) Lauren Fritz, APU, 14:17.3; 8) Annie Liotta, MSU, 14:20.2; 9) Anna-Lena Heynen, UU, 14:21.3; 10) Cambria McDermott, MSU, 14:22.3. Other UAA/APU -- 11) Kathrin Schratt, UAA, 14:27.4; 23) Patricia Sprecher, UAA, 15:14.2; 25) Hanna Slotte, UAA, 16:07.5; 26) Jade Hajdukovich, APU, 17:44.3.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.