Skip to main Content

Miners claim top ABL baseball awards

  • Author: Alaska News
  • Updated: September 28, 2016
  • Published August 19, 2014

A pair of Mat-Su Miners have claimed the Alaska Baseball League's top postseason awards.

Cam Newell, an outfielder from UC-Santa Barbara, was named the league's Player of the Year, and Tyler Stubblefield, a lefthander from Texas A&M, was named Pitcher of the Year and Top Pro Prospect.

Newell batted .331 in 33 games for the Miners. He finished with 38 RBIs, seven home runs and nine stolen bases.

Stubblefield was 5-1 with an earned-run average of 1.99. In 45 1/3 innings, he struck out 46 and walked 10.

Other top awards went to Jacob Hayes of the Fairbanks Goldpanners, who won the Silver Slugger Award, and Mylz Jones of the Peninsula Oilers, who took the Gold Glove Award.

Alaska Baseball League

2014 all-League team

Player of the Year -- Cam Newell, Miners, UC-Santa Barbara

Pitcher of the Year -- Tyler Stubblefield, Miners, Texas A&M.

Top Pro Prospect -- Tyler Stubblefield, Miners, Texas A&M.

Silver Slugger Award -- Jacob Hayes, Goldpanners, Indiana State.

Gold Glove Award -- Mylz Jones, Oilers, Cal St-Bakersfield.

Catcher -- Josh Meyer, Miners, Grand Canyon.

Designated Hitter -- Vahn Bozoian, Goldpanners, Concordia.

First base -- Mark Krueger, Bucs, Utah Valley.

Second base -- Clayton Taylor, Glacier Pilots, Nebraska-Omaha.

Third base --Kevin Viers, Glacier Pilots, Fresno State.

Shortstop -- Cody Nulph, Goldpanners, Auburn.

Outfielders -- Andy Crowley, Bucs, Cal Baptist; Jacob Hayes, Goldpanners, Indiana State; Scott Hurst, Goldpanners, Cal State-Fullerton.

Starting pitchers -- Trevor Lacosse, Bucs, Bryant; Henri Faucheux, Glacier Pilots, LSU; Mike Benson, Goldpanners, Pacific; Ryan Hendrix, Miners, Texas A&M; Tyler Stubblefield , Miners, Texas A&M.

Relief pitchers -- Devon Stewart, Bucs, Canisius; Cameron Pongs, Glacier Pilots, Long Beach State; Miles Chambers, Goldpanners, Cal St-Fullerton; Vince Arobio, Miners, Pacific; Chad Rieser, Oilers, UC-San Diego.

Utility player -- Grant Palmer, Bucs, UC-Irvine.

Coach of the Year -- Mike Grahovac, Goldpanners.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.