Skip to main Content

UAA ski team wins in Fairbanks

  • Author: Craig Medred
  • Updated: September 28, 2016
  • Published November 23, 2014

The UAA ski team captured its first Alaska Nordic Cup since 2011 Sunday by getting a win from Mackenzie Kanady and Kathrin Schratt in a classic sprint relay at Birch Hill in Fairbanks.

Kanady, a junior who won Saturday's individual freestyle race, teamed with freshman Schratt to win the women's sprint relay. They finished in 21 minutes, 48.84 seconds to beat UAF's Anne-Tine Markset and Nichole Bathe, who placed second in 21:55.64.

The men's victory went to UAF's Hallvard Evjestad and Logan Hanneman in 18:31.24. Evjestad was the men's freestyle winner Saturday.

Second place went to UAA's Clement Molliet and Mario Roncador in 18:33.75.

Overall, the Seawolves earned a 39-second victory over UAF over two days of racing. The team victory was UAA's third since the Alaska Nordic Cup was established 11 years ago. The Nanooks lead the series 7-3-1.

For more newsletters click here

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.