Skip to main Content
High School Sports

Alaska High School Hall of Fame adds 13, including 5 athletes

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: March 1
  • Published March 1

Haines’ Kyle Fossman helped his team defeat Heritage Christian in the State 3A Boys Championship game Saturday March 22, 2008 at Sullivan Arena.. (Bob Hallinen / ADN archive 2008)

A football player from North Pole who won a Super Bowl with the Green Bay Packers is among 13 people selected to the Alaska High School Hall of Fame.

Five athletes are part of the Class of 2018.

Daryn Colledge played football and baseball for North Pole and made a career out of football after high school. An offensive lineman for Boise State, he was drafted by the Packers in the second round of the NFL draft and was a member of Green Bay's 2011 Super Bowl championship team.

The other four athletes headed to the Hall of Fame are all from Southeast Alaska, including two who starred at Juneau-Douglas — runner Leah Francis and basketball and soccer player Talisa Rhea.

Also selected were Kyle Fossman and Cameron Severson. Both earned Class 3A Player of the Year honors in basketball, Fossman for Haines and Severson for Petersburg.

The rest of the inductees include one musician, three activity sponsors, two officials and two lifetime achievement recipients:

Andrew Vait, a musician from Homer;

Mark Robinson, choral director at Homer High School for 23 years;

William Searle, band director at Homer High for 24 years;

Robert Hutton band director for Hoonah Schools for 32 years;

Jack Renn, a basketball, football and softball official in Anchorage;

Ron Henderson, a football and basketball official in Anchorage, the Valley and the Kenai Peninsula;

Al Howard, a coach and administrator at Soldotna High;

Dan Gensel, a former coach and current radio broadcaster on the Kenai Peninsula.

The Hall of Fame, administered by the Alaska School Activities Association, was created in 2006. It has enshrined 136 people, including the newest selections.

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.