Skip to main Content
High School Sports

'Glenny Lake’ volleyball team rules Alaska’s Class 2A tournament

A team made of athletes from the Glennallen and Kenny Lake high schools – call it Glenny Lake – captured the Class 2A state volleyball championship Saturday after a mad scramble to find a new facility after Friday’s earthquake.

The consolidated squad defeated Su Valley twice to take home the title.

After losing a first-round match to Cordova, Glennallen/Kenny Lake battled through the losers bracket to earn a spot in the title match .

It beat the Rams in four sets – 25-22, 17-25, 25-15, 25-23 – to force the if-necessary tiebreaking set. Glennallen/Kenny Lake dominated for a 30-22 victory.

In the Mix Six coed tournament for Alaska’s smallest schools, Tanalian claimed the state title with a four-set win over Shishmaref, 25-18, 25-22, 17-25, 25-19.

The tournaments brought 20 teams to Anchorage – 12 Mix Six teams and six Class 2A teams.

Play started Thursday at Dimond High but Friday’s action was postponed by the earthquake that morning. The Anchorage School District subsequently closed all of the city’s public schools, forcing Alaska School Activities Association officials to find another place for the tournament.

Anchorage Christian School was not damaged and was able to accommodate both tournaments. ASAA revamped the schedule, turning many five-set matches into three-set matches, in order to crown champions.

ASAA/First National Bank state volleyball

All-tournmament teams

Class 2A

Abby Bourgeois, Cordova

Ashley Hansen, Craig

Elaine Mack, King Cove

Haleigh Ebbinghausen, Craig

Helen Decker, Wrangell

Justiss Hutchison, Glennallen

Kelsie Friendshuh, Glennallen

Trisha Pevan, Su Valley

Kenna Rose Grenier, Su Valley

Kiana Schorr, Su Valley

Nicole Friendshuh, Glennallen

Riley Butler, Cordova

Mix Six

Ethan Gray, Hoonah

David Shatswell, Gustavus

Katelyn Johnson, Tanalian

Gabriel Stenek, Shishmaref

Elizabeth Fefelov, Nikolaevsk

Michael Trail, Nikoliaevsk

Brennan Bogardus, Kodiak ESS

Caleb Alsworth, Tanalian

Sarah Stenek, Shishmaref

Evan Wordell, Tanalian

Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Raia Beebe, Tanalian

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.