Skip to main Content
High School Sports

Her destiny didn’t include a 4th state basketball title, but ACS’s Destiny Reimers sweeps postseason awards

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: April 7
  • Published April 7

Anchorage Christian's Destiny Reimers reaches for a rebound during the 2019 state tournament. (Loren Holmes / ADN archives)

An Alaska high school basketball season that ended before any state champions could be crowned is getting a postscript — on paper, at least.

All-state teams, players of the year and coaches of the year were announced last week, weeks after the state tournaments were canceled to help limit the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Among those honored was Destiny Reimers of Anchorage Christian, a 5-foot-9 senior guard who swept the two biggest individual awards of the season. She was named Alaska’s Gatorade Player of the Year and the Class 3A Player of the Year.

What Reimer missed out on was a shot at a fourth straight state championship. The Lions were 27-1 this season and favored to win another Class 3A state title.

Reimers, who is headed to UAF to play college basketball for the Nanooks, averaged 18 points, 8 rebounds, 5.8 assists and 2.9 steals for ACS, the only team in the state to boast three first-team all-state selections. ACS’s Mykaila Pickard and Sayvia Sellers also made the 3A first-team.

Four other teams had two first-team picks apiece — the Colony boys in 4A, the Monroe boys in 3A, the Point Hope boys in 2A and the King Cove girls in 1A.

Colony Knights junior Patrick McMahon claimed Player of the Year honors in Class 4A, giving him a share of the sport’s top individual prizes this season along with Dimond Lynx senior Isaiah Moses. Moses was named the Gatorade Player of the Year.

McMahon, a 6-foot-6 wing, made an early oral commitment to Montana State last month.

Also earning Player of the Year awards were Edward Kokeok of Shishmaref in 1A boys, Elaina Mack of King Cove in 1A girls, Christian Adams of Cordova in 2A boys, Alexis Russell of Metlakatla in 2A girls, Jalen Freeman of Valdez in 3A boys and Chasity Horn of Chugiak in 4A girls.

Horn and Moses were also recently honored as MVPs of Anchorage’s Cook Inlet Conference. Horn is headed to Division I New Mexico, and Moses is headed to UAA.

Chugiak's Chasity Horn, right, battles West Valley's Sierra Tate for a rebound during Chugiak's 69-66 win over West Valley in the first round of the ASAA/First National Bank Alaska Girls Class 4A Basketball Tournament at the Alaska Airlines Center in Anchorage on Thursday, March 21, 2019. (Matt Tunseth / Chugiak-Eagle River Star)

Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches all-state teams

Class 4A boys

Player of the Year — Patrick McMahon, Colony

Coach of the Year — Colton Growden, West Valley

First team

Patrick McMahon, Colony

Hassan Harrington, East

Chris Lee, Ketchikan

Isaiah Moses, Dimond

Colton Spencer, Colony

Second team

Dylan Erhart, West Valley

Reece Ivanoff, South

Brayden Maldonado, East

Terrell Peter, West Valley

Jersey Truesdell, Soldotna

Third team

Luke Devine, Wasilla

Bryson Echiverri, Thunder Mountain

Jeremiah Hersrud, Colony

Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau

Bishop Tosi, Bartlett

Class 4A girls

Player of the Year — Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Coach of the Year — Charlie Engel, West

First team

Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Kendyl Carson, Juneau

Bella Hays, Wasilla

Ella Roberts, Lathrop

Amelia Uhila, Bartlett

Second team

Indiya Clarke, Colony

Ah’KayZee Galloway-Davis, West

Angelline Nageak, Dimond

TT Tagovailoa, Lathrop

Ituau Tuisaula, Soldotna

Third team

Sheridan Blasey, West Valley

Mikayla Johnson, Eagle River

Jazlynn Novelli, Wasilla

Tori Schwantes, Colony

Lily Weimann, South

Class 3A boys

Player of the Year — Jalen Freeman, Valdez

Coach of the Year — Al Plan, Seward

First team

Jalen Freeman, Valdez

Malachi Bradley, Monroe

Brendon Matthews, Barrow

Quinn McHenry, Monroe

Jason Montes, Delta

Second team

Andrew Beck, Grace Christian

Christian Bolton, Eielson

Anthony Fruean, Barrow

Daekwon Houston, ACS

Kayden Lamebull, Grace Christian

Third team

Jamin Crow, Bethel

Deion Frank, Hutchison

Nathan Ivanoff, Grace

Jace McCullough, Monroe

Connor Spanos, Seward

Class 3A girls

Player of the Year — Destiny Reimers, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year — David Wightman, Galena

First team

Destiny Reimers, ACS

Lillian Carstens, Nikiski

Pearle Green, Galena

Mykaila Pickard, ACS

Sayvia Sellers, ACS

Second team

Katie Best, Monroe

Tessa Binder, Grace

Jenilee Donovan, Barrow

Katelyn Kaleak, Barrow

Sunny Pedebone, ACS

Third team

Tiffany Elefante, Sitka

Abbie Fuller, Redington

Adam Kaganak, Galena

Laveah Makisi, Kotzebue

Lisa Okboak, Nome

Cordova's Christian Adams, left, is the Class 2A Player of the Year. (Marc Lester / ADN archives)

Class 2A boys

Player of the Year — Christian Adams, Cordova

Coach of the Year — Teddy Frankson, Tikigaq

First team

Christian Adams, Cordova

Jalen Cannon, Tikigaq

Thomas Durkin, Petersburg

Kirby Faverty, Haines

Henry Kowunna, Tikigaq

Second team

Elijah Casperson, Metlakatla

Mark Davis, Haines

Kaiden Graves, Cordova

Gabe Jones, Glennallen

Brayden Larson, Petersburg

Third team

Jamison Fields, Glennallen

Mike Haugen, Unalakleet

Colton Hayward, Metlakatla

Devin Spears, Glennallen

Trevor Miller, Wrangell

Class 2A girls

Player of the Year — Alexis Russell, Metlakatla

Coach of the Year — Lindsey Layland, Dillingham

First team

Alexis Russell, Metlakatla

Kaylin Easterly, Wrangell

Angela Lane, Tikigaq

Hailey Wilson, Unalaska

Jewel Wilson, Unalakleet

Second team

Ashley Agwiak, Nenana

Kenna Grenier, Susitna Valley

Ines Larson, Petersburg

Mary Long, Hooper Bay

Kayla Vilamor, Unalaska

Third team

Reagen Finkenbinder, Dillingham

Kallyn Haugen, Unalakleet

Rayna Peterson, Nenana

Kalli Simbahon, Petersburg

Abbey Whitcomb, Dillingham

Class 1A boys

Player of the Year — Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Coach of the Year — Mark Gunkel, Thorne Bay

First team

Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Daniel Bennett, Lumen Christi

Jacob Congdon, Thorne Bay

Jesse Starnes, Sand Point

Seth Turenne, Minto

Second team

Jaden Hadley, Noorvik

Lukah Kalugin, Nikolaevsk

Amos Sage, Noatak

Joel Swanberg, Birchwood Christian

Kenneth Walton, Noatak

Third team

Jaren Black, Manokotak

Ben Botero, Ninilchik

Brendon Gregory, Lumen Christian

Benjamin Homekingkeo, Koyuk

Jaren Tinker, Aleknagik

Class 1A girls

Player of the Year Elaina Mack, King Cove

Coach of the Year — Gary Lamar, King Cove

First team

Elaina Mack, King Cove

Jalaya Duarte, King Cove

Elizabeth Fefelov, Nikolaevsk

Sonja Ningulook, Shishmaref

Markiana Yakunin, Nikolaevsk

Second team

Sophia Klaich, Nikolaevsk

Haley Sielak, Alak

Tanya Marvin-Looney, Klawock

Johnna Nanalook, Newhalen

Sadie Newman, King Cove

Third team

Lindsey Homberg, Sand Point

Tera Phillips, Alak

Katelyn Johnson, Port Alsworth

Allyson Takak, Shaktoolik

Elsa Tinker, Kongiganak


Boys all-conference

Coach of the year — Jamaal Siah, South

MVP — Isaiah Moses, Dimond

Hasaan Herrington, East

Isaiah Moses, Dimond

Bishop Tosi, Bartlett

Reece Ivanoff, South

Brayden Maldonado, East

Traivar Jackson, West

Leroy Manogiamanu, Bartlett

Patrick Moses, Service

Zach Williamson, Service

Jackson Wall, Chugiak

Jaren Carle, Dimond

Brandon Gall, Service

Owen Lewis, Chugiak

Jayden Heartwell-McKoy, South

Girls all-conference

Coach of the year — Charlie Engel, West

MVP — Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Amelia Uhila, Bartlett

Ah’kayzee Galloway-Davis, West

Angelline Nageak, Dimond

Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Mikayla Johnson, Eagle River

Lily Weimann, South

Layla Beam, Chugiak

Juliette Adlawan, West

Kristi Anderson, East

Taylor Tuilana, Dimond

Cadie Stoddard, Service

Nyakoat Ruot, Bartlett

Ariana Lewis, Chugiak

Maris Soland, South

Elaina Mack of King Cove, left, is the Class 1A Player of the Year. (Erik Hill / ADN archives)