High School Sports

Two Anchorage girls among 8 players statewide to earn player-of-the-year honors in basketball

Two Anchorage basketball players are among eight players statewide who garnered Player of the Year honors by the Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches.

Amelia ‘Uhila of Bartlett High was named the Class 4A girls player of the year, and Tessa Binder of Grace Christian was named the Class 3A girls player of the year. Both led their teams to berths in this week’s state tournament in the Valley.

Other players of the year include Colony’s Patrick McMahon (Class 4A boys), Monroe Catholic’s Quinn McHenry (Class 3A boys), Petersburg’s Brennan Skeek (Class 2A boys), Point Hope’s Jadyn Lane (Class 2A girls), Ninilchik’s Landon Colburn (Class 1A boys) and Newhalen’s Aileen Lester (Class 1A girls).

Teams were selected by a vote from members of the coaching association.

‘Uhila was the only Anchorage girl to make the Class 4A first-team squad, and Binder was one of three from Anchorage girls on the 3A first team, along with Sayvia Sellers and Mykaila Pickard, both of Anchorage Christian.

Monroe Catholic of Fairbanks was the only team with three first-team all-staters — McHenry, Malachi Bradley and Jase McCullough. The other two first-team picks for 3A boys were Grace Christian teammates Luke Lentfer and Jaren Miller.

In Class 1A, the Ninilchik boys, Lumen Christi boys and Newhalen girls each had two first-team picks. No schools had multiple first-team picks in Class 4A girls, Class 2A boys or Class 2A girls.

In 4A boys, Colony had first-teamers in McMahon and Jeremiah Hersrud. The East T-birds, the only undefeated team in 4A boys, had one first-team pick (Hasaan Herrington) and one second-team pick (Jahbez Sellers). Bartlett’s Bishop Tosi and Juneau’s Cooper Kriegmont completed the 4A boys first team.

Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches All-State Team

Class 4A boys

Player of the Year: Patrick McMahon, Colony

Coach of the Year: Chuck Martin, East Anchorage

First team

Patrick McMahon, Colony

Hasaan Herrington, East Anchorage

Jeremiah Hersrud, Colony

Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau-Douglas

Bishop Tosi, Bartlett

Second team

Reece Ivanoff, South Anchorage

Traivar Jackson, West Anchorage

Cortarious Mingo, West Valley

Jahbez Sellers, East Anchorage

Jackson Wall, Chugiak

Third team

Andrew Devine, Wasilla

Zach Jenkins, Dimond

Tyriq Luke, West Valley

Meki Toutaiolepo, Thunder Mountain

Dylan Westlake, Service

Class 4A girls

Player of the Year: Amelia Uhila, Bartlett

Coach of the Year: Clarence Smith, Bartlett

First team

Amelia Uhila, Bartlett

Indiya Clarke, Colony

Rachel Cockman, West Valley

Bella Hays, Wasilla

Tristian Martin, Lathrop

Second team

Lewanne Brower, Dimond

Ariana Lewis, Chugiak

Ali May, West Valley

Jenae Rhodes, Ketchikan

TT Tagovailoa, Lathrop

Third team

Hadley Blasey, West Valley

Adam Kaganek, Bartlett

Kiana Potter, Juneau-Douglas

Sydney Strong, Thunder Mountain

Catherine Uschmann, Palmer

Class 3A boys

Player of the Year: Quinn McHenry, Monroe Catholic

Coach of the Year: Frank Ostanik, Monroe Catholic

First team

Quinn McHenry, Monroe Catholic

Malachi Bradley, Monroe Catholic

Luke Lentfer, Grace Christian

Jase McCullough, Monroe Catholic

Jaren Miller, Grace Christian

Second team

Clayton Beachy, Homer

Jamin Crow, Bethel

Josh Davis, Anchorage Christian

Hayden Howard, Houston

Max Pfieffenberger, Seward

Third team

RJ Alstrom, Mt. Edgecumbe

Ben Bialik, Delta

JD McGee, Anchorage Christian

Matt Sanders, Anchorage Christian

Dawson Schaeffer, Nome

Class 3A girls

Player of the Year: Tessa Binder, Grace Christian

Coach of the Year: Curtis Berry, Seward

First team

Tessa Binder, Grace Christian

Jocelyn Brady, Sitka

Lillian Carstens, Nikiski

Mykaila Pickard, Anchorage Christian

Sayvia Sellers, Anchorage Christian

Second team

Katie Bast, Monroe Catholic

Hannah Hatfield, Homer

Reese King, Valdez

Sunny Pedebone, Anchorage Christian

Lexi Seymore, Redington

Third team:

Mikayla Johnson, Anchorage Christian

Tawny Smith, Sitka

Shelby Sieminski, Seward

Sarah Sorrells, Anchorage Christian

Logan Statathite, Kenai

Class 2A boys

Player of the Year: Brennan Skeek, Petersburg

Coach of the Year: Rick Brock, Petersburg

First team:

Brennan Skeek, Petersburg

Elijah Casperson, Metlakatla

Carson Crager, Haines

Mike Haugen, Unalakleet

Henry Kowunna, Tikigaq

Second team

Brett Abrahamson, Wrangell

John Bisset, Petersburg

Mark Davis, Haines

Cody Ivanoff, Unalakleet

Aidan Rolando, Metlakatla

Third team

Luke Davis, Haines

Isaac Henderson, Metlakatla

Derek Joseph, Effie Kokrine

Joelian Lane, Tikigaq

Herwin Riodil, Unalaska

Class 2A girls

Player of the Year: Jadyn Lane, Tikigaq

Coach of the Year: Ramona Rock, Tikigaq

First team

Jadyn Lane, Tikigaq

Ines Larson, Petersburg

Mary Long, Hooper Bay

Ce’Anika Palacios, Glennallen

Hailey Wilson, Unalaska

Second team

Kristin Ewan-Dye, Glennallen

Reagan Finkenbinder, Dillingham

Kenna Grenier, Susitna Valley

Brianna Ivanoff, Unalakleet

Ashanti Melik, Tikigaq

Third team

Michelle Atcherian, Chevak

Ryley Booth, Metlakatla

Kaili Simbahon, Petersburg

Adrianna Stough, Petersburg

Virginia Teayoumeak, Tikigaq

Class 1A boys

Player of the Year: Landon Colburn, Ninilchik

Coach of the Year: Dick Hawkins, Ninilchik

First team

Landon Colburn, Ninilchik

Daniel Bennett, Lumen Christi

Brenden Gregory, Lumen Christi

Lukah Kalugin, Nikolaevsk

George Nelson, Ninilchik

Second team

Tim Bennett, Lumen Christi

Kosta Fefelov, Nikolaevsk

Cole Hadro, Ninilchik

Cole Moore, Cook Inlet Academy

Mason Zeigler, Cook Inlet Academy

Class 1A girls

Player of the Year: Aileen Lester, Newhalen

Coach of the Year: Josh Hawley, Cook Inlet Academy

First team

Aileen Lester, Newhalen

Mattie Buyse, Birchwood Christian

Katie McGee, Port Alsworth

Johnna Nanalook, Newhalen

Tatum Rozak, Cook Inlet Academy

Second team

Keisha Anelon, Newhalen

Rebecca Okonek, Ninilchik

Kayla Philips, Alak

Emily Rose, Lumen Christi

Amara Warren, Lumen Christi