Skip to main Content
High School Sports

East, South carry edge into final day of state softball tournament

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: June 5
  • Published June 5

The softball teams from East and South will square off in a winner’s bracket semifinal game Saturday afternoon with the winner gaining a spot in the championship game of the Division I state high school softball tournament at Cartee Fields.

The loser will drop into an elimination game, where a victory would keep it in the running for the title.

East and South play at 12:15 p.m., the same time Chugiak and Dimond meet in a loser-out game. The East-South loser will face the Chugiak-Dimond winner for a spot in the 5 p.m. title game.

East remained undefeated in the six-team, double-elimination tournament with a 10-5 victory Friday night over Dimond. South stayed undefeated with a 7-4 win over Chugiak.

In the Division II tournament for smaller schools, Ketchikan and Juneau will meet in Saturday’s 10 a.m. winner’s bracket game. Delta and North Pole also play at 10 a.m., in an elimination game.

The Ketchikan-Juneau winner moves directly to the 2:45 p.m. championships; the loser plays the Delta-North Pole winner with a chance to advance to the finale.

ASAA/First National Bank softball state championships

Division I

Friday’s results

East 11, Colony 3

Chugiak 19, West Valley 1

East 10, Dimond 5

Soiuth 7, Chugiak 4

Chugiak 15, Colony 0 (loser out)

Dimond 14, West Valley 0 (loser out)

Saturday’s games

12:15 p.m -- South vs. East

12:15 p.m. -- Dimond vs. Chugiak (loser out)

2:45 p.m. -- South-East loser vs. Dimond-Chugiak winner (loser out)

5 p.m. -- Championship: South-East winner vs. winner of 2:45 p.m. game

(If-necessary game to follow)

Division II

Friday’s results

Homer 13, Delta 4

Kodiak 8, North Pole 3

Ketchikan 12, Homer 10

Juneau 15, Kodiak 4

Delta 8, Kodiak 4 (loser out)

North 21, Homer 20 (loser out)

Saturday’s games

10 a.m. -- Juneau vs. Ketchikan

10 a.m. -- Delta vs. North Pole (loser out)

12:15 p.m. -- Juneau-Ketchikan loser vs. Delta-North Pole winner (loser out)

2:45 p.m. -- Championship: Juneau-Ketchikan winner vs. winner of 12:15 p.m. game

(If-necessary game to follow)