High School Sports

South repeats as state Division I softball champion

The Anchorage South High softball team topped Chugiak 10-2 on Saturday to take the Alaska Division I Tournament championship at South Davis Park in Fairbanks.

South scored three in the first inning, five in the second inning and tacked on two in the third. That was all the Wolverines needed to earn back-to-back state titles. Chugiak scored both of its runs in the first inning.

The 2021 title game saw a similar score and an identical outcome. South beat Chugiak 8-2 in that one.

Junior Alexis Moore and freshman Ryan Hutchinson each had three hits for South.

Madison Williams, Emily McCutcheon and Milly Wurst each earned all-state honors for South, which finished the season 25-3-1 overall.

Williams had two hits in the championship game and McCutcheon and two hits and two RBI.

In the DII title game, Ketchikan defeated Thunder Mountain 9-1. Mackenzie Pahang got the win in the circle for the Lady Kings. Ketchikan finished the season 25-12.

State Softball Tournament

At South Davis Park in Fairbanks

Division I

Thursday’s results (pool play)

Pool A at Field 3

South 13 West Valley 2

Chugiak 12, West Valley 1

South 8, Chugiak 7

Pool B at Field 4

Colony 8, Dimond 7

East 17, Dimond 15

East 13, Colony 12

Friday’s results

Winner’s bracket

West Valley 10, Colony 6

Chugiak 18, Dimond 15

South 10, West Valley 2

Chugiak 12, East 2


East 13, Colony 5

Dimond 22, West Valley 3

Saturday’s results

Winner’s bracket

South 12, Chugiak 1


East 8, Dimond 4

Chugiak 14, East 6


South 10, Chugiak 2

Division II

Thursday’s results (pool play)

Pool A at Field 1

Ketchikan 10, Kodiak 4

Delta Junction 3, Kodiak 1

Delta 12, Ketchikan 11

Pool B at Field 2

Homer 13, North Pole 11

Thunder Mountain 10, North Pole 2

Thunder Mountain 11, Homer 1

Friday’s results

Winner’s bracket

Homer 5, Kodiak 2

Ketchikan 6, North Pole 5

Delta 17, Homer 10

Ketchikan 8, Thunder Mountain 0


Thunder Mountain 12, Kodiak 0

North Pole 9, Homer 1

Saturday’s results

Winner’s bracket

Ketchikan 12, Delta 5


Thunder Mountain 12, North Pole 0

Thunder Mountain 19, Delta 11


Ketchikan 9, Thunder Mountain 1