Skip to main Content
National Sports

Defending champion Villanova named No. 1 overall seed in March Madness tournament

  • Author: The Sports Xchange
  • Updated: March 12, 2017
  • Published March 12, 2017

Villanova Wildcats guard Josh Hart watches his shot during the first half of the Big East Conference Tournament final game against the Creighton Bluejays at Madison Square Garden in New York City on March 11, 2017. (Adam Hunger / USA TODAY Sports)

Defending champion Villanova was the overall top seed and one of four No. 1 seeds in the NCAA Tournament field announced Sunday.

The Wildcats (31-3), who beat Creighton in the Big East tournament championship game on Saturday night, were positioned atop the East Regional.

The other No. 1 seeds were Kansas (28-4) in the Midwest, Gonzaga (32-1) in the West and North Carolina (27-7) in the South.

Kansas won the Big 12 regular-season championship before being upset by TCU in the conference tournament.

Gonzaga, the West Coast Conference regular-season and tournament champion, lost only to Brigham Young this year.

North Carolina won the Atlantic Coast regular-season title before losing to Duke in the ACC tournament semifinals on Friday.

In the East bracket, the rest of the top four seeds after Villanova were No. 2 Duke (27-8), No. 3 Baylor (25-7) and No. 4 Florida (24-8).

In the West, seeded behind Gonzaga were No. 2 Arizona (30-4), No. 3 Florida State (25-8) and No. 4 West Virginia (26-8).

The South top four seeds included No. 2 Kentucky (29-5), No. 3 UCLA (29-4) and No. 4 Butler (23-8).

In the Midwest, the second through fourth seeds were No. 2 Louisville (24-8), No. 3 Oregon (29-5) and No. 4 Purdue (25-7).

Northwestern Wildcats players celebrate after the team was selected as the number eight seed in the west region of the NCAA Tournament during a selection Sunday watch party at Welsh-Ryan Arena. (Jerry Lai / USA TODAY Sports)

Northwestern (23-11) of the Big Ten made the NCAA field for the first time in school history. The Wildcats were the No. 8 seed in the West Regional.

Syracuse was among the bubble teams that failed to make the 68-team field.

Local news matters.

Support independent, local journalism in Alaska.