Skip to main Content
UAA Athletics

Great Alaska Shootout timeline

  • Author: Beth Bragg
  • Updated: August 25, 2017
  • Published August 24, 2017

A fan holds up a sign for ESPN cameras at the 1987 Great Alaska Shootout. (Michael Penn / ADN archive 1987)

1979 — The Sea Wolf Classic returns as the Great Alaska Shootout, a name coined by TV broadcaster Billy Packer during coverage of the inaugural tournament.

1983 — The Shootout moves from Buckner Fieldhouse to Sullivan Arena.

1985 — ESPN airs its first live broadcasts of the Shootout, beginning a 33-year run of live Shootout coverage.

1986 — UAA beats Texas and Washington to claim two wins in a single Shootout for the first time. The Seawolves did it again in 1987, 1991, 2003, 2010 and 2012.

1993 — Anchorage's Jason Kaiser scores 35 points to help the Seawolves upset Wake Forest 70-68 in a nationally televised first-round game.

1993 — Purdue's Glenn Robinson sets the Shootout scoring record with 97 points in three games, topping the record of 83 set in 1980 by Colgate's Mike Ferrara.

1994 — Carrs (later Carrs-Safeway) becomes the tournament's title sponsor.

1997 — Shootout sets an attendance record with 52,200 fans coming to Sullivan over a four-day period that ended with North Carolina's 73-69 championship game victory over Purdue.

1998 – Cincinnati, ranked 15th in the nation, surprises top-ranked Duke and hometown hero Trajan Langdon 77-75 in a title game played in front of a sellout crowd of 8,700.

1999 — A women's tournament is added to the Shootout, a four-team event created after the demise of the eight-team Northern Lights Invitational, which ran from 1980-1997 on separate dates from the Shootout.

2006 — UAA women begin run of four straight Shootout championships.

2008 — ESPN coverage ends.

2009 — Unable to attract seven Division I men's teams, the Shootout becomes a six-team, round-robin event for one year.

2011 — The Shootout, struggling to survive, receives $2 million from the state legislature.

2012 — CBS Sports Network begins coverage.

2014 — The Shootout moves from Sullivan Arena to the Alaska Airlines Center, and GCI becomes the tournament's new title sponsor.

2015 — UAA junior guard Suki Wiggs scores 98 points in three tournament games to break the record of 97 set by Purdue's Glenn Robinson in 1993.

Aug. 24, 2017 — UAA announces that the 40th edition of the Shootout will be the last.

Sources: Alaska Dispatch News archives, UAA athletic department

Related stories: