Skip to main Content
UAA Athletics

UAA honors basketball player Yazmeen Goo as 2019-20 athlete of the year

  • Author: Anchorage Daily News
  • Updated: December 8, 2020
  • Published December 8, 2020

Yazmeen Goo, left, a key player for the UAA women's basketball team for four straight seasons, is the school's Athlete of the Year for 2019-20. (Bill Roth / ADN archives)

For the fifth year in a row, the winner of UAA’s athlete of the year award is a woman — and for the second time in five years, she’s a member of the school’s successful women’s basketball program.

Yazmeen Goo, a 5-foot-10 point guard, is the 2020 Bill McKay Athlete of the Year award, presented annually since 1985.

Goo wrapped up a four-year career as an All-America honorable mention pick for the Seawolves. She was also a first-team all-Great Northwest Athletic Conference pick and a second-team all-West Region, honors earned during a season in which she averaged 10.1 points, 3.9 assists, 2.6 rebounds and 1.6 steals per game. Her 56.8% shooting from the field was the best in school history by a guard.

She was a key player for the Seawolves, who finished the season 31-2 and were ranked fourth in the national when COVID-19 ended the NCAA season during the first week of the postseason.

Goo, who is from Daly City, California, was a top contributor for four seasons and a starter for three. During that time, the Seawolves went 118-12. As a senior she made the GNAC all-academic team with a 3.39 GPA in justice.

Other candidates for the Athlete of the Year award were Luc Brown (hockey), Georgia Burgess (women’s skiing), Emmah Chelimo (women’s cross country), Isabelle Fox (gymnastics), Felix Kemboi (men’s cross country), Wesley Kirui (men’s track & field), Caroline Kurgat (women’s track & field), Jack Macdonald (men’s basketball), Sigurd Roening (men’s skiing) and Eve Stephens (volleyball).

Goo is the fifth straight woman to win the award, following runner and two-time winner Caroline Kurgat (2019, 2018), volleyball player Morgan Hooe (2017) and women’s basketball player Megan Mullings (2016). Before that, men won the award in four consecutive years.

UAA has honored a top athlete every year since 1985. Women have won it 20 times; men have won it 17 times. On two occasions, the award was shared by two athletes.

UAA’s other major athletic award for 2019-20 — the Dresser Cup for academic achievement — was shared by four athletes — skiers Natalie Hynes, Michaela Keller-Miller and Dominic Unterberger, and track runner Marie Ries. All finished the spring semester with cumulative GPAs of 4.0.

Claiming the 2020 Alaska Born and Raised Award, was skier Anna Darnell of Anchorage. The award goes to a graduating senior who has lived in Alaska more than half of their life and graduated from an Alaska high school. This is the second year the award has been presented.

Bill MacKay Athlete of the Year

2020 — Yazmeen Goo, women’s basketball

2019 — Caroline Kurgat, track and field

2018 — Caroline Kurgat, cross country

2017 — Morgan Hooe, volleyball

2016 — Megan Mullings, women’s basketball

2015 — Cody Thomas, track and field

2014 — Micah Chelimo, track/cross country

2013 — Micah Chelimo, track/cross country

2012 — Taylor Rohde, men’s basketball

2011 — Ruth Keino, track/cross country

2010 — Calli Scott, volleyball

2009 — David Registe, track and field

2008 — Luke Cooper, men’s basketball

2007 — Rebecca Kielpinski, women’s basketball

2006 — Kemmy Burgess. men’s basketball

2005 — Mandy Kaempf, skiing/cross country

2004 — Peter Bullock, men’s basketball

2003 — Tobias Schwoerer, skiing/cross country

2002 — Tobias Schwoerer, skiing/cross country

2001 — Ed Kirk, men’s basketball

2000 — Edda Mutter, skiing

1999 — Jim Hajdukovich, men’s basketball

1998 — Zuzana Razusova, skiing

1997 — Tie: Frode Lillefjell, skiing/cross country; Elena Tkacheva, gymnastics

1996 — Allegra Stoetzel, women’s basketball

1995 — Tie: Jason Kaiser, men’s basketball; Karen Hoey, gymnastics

1994 — Kerry Robitaille, gymnastics

1993 — Jen Szczerbinski, volleyball

1992 — Jon Pauole, swimming

1991 — Paul Krake, hockey

1990 — Teri Frankie, gymnastics

1989 — Michael Johnson, men’s basketball

1988 — Robin Graul, women’s basketball

1987 — Hansi Gnad, men’s basketball

1986 — Teri Frankie, gymnastics

1985 — Tiina Kantola, skiing/cross country

Dresser Cup (for academics)

2020 — Tie: Michaela Keller-Miller, skiing; Natalie Hynes, skiing; Marie Ries, track; Dominic Unterberger, skiing

2019 — Michaela Keller-Miller, skiing; Yvonne Jeschke, track; Casey Wright, skiing

2018 — Olivier Mantha, hockey; Casey Wright, skiing

2017 — Olivier Mantha, hockey

2016 — Tie: Marie-Sophie Boggasch, gymnastics; Simone Penker, gymnastics

2015 — Anna Berecz, skiing

2014 — Teancum Stafford, MBB

2013 — Ida Bjerka, skiing

2012 — Jaime Bronga, skiing

2011 — Jaime Bronga, skiing

2010 — Max Treinen, skiing

2009 — Raphael Wunderle, skiing

2008 — Tie: Heather McIntyre, track; Raphael Wunderle, skiing

2007 — Mandy Kaempf, track

2006 — Stacy Edwards, cross country

2005 — Stacy Edwards, track

2004 — Stacy Edwards, cross country/track

2003 — Tobias Schwoerer, skiing, cross country

2002 — Tiffany Massey, volleyball

2001 — Tie: Jason Feeken, skiing; Stephanie Johnson, women’s basketball

2000 — Jana Jagercikova, skiing

1999 — Morten Kjerland, skiing

1998 — Steve Carroll, cross country

1997 — Elena Tkacheva, gymnastics

1996 — John Smith, cross country

1995 — Jens Beck, swimming

1994 — Wendi Jobe, women’s basketball

1993 — Tommy Rutledge, cross country

1992 — Danicia Thomas, volleyball

1991 — Greta Fadness, women’s basketball

1990 — Carroll Pope, cross country

1989 — Carroll Pope, cross country

1988 — John Davis, cross country

1987 — Kristena Wyatt, skiing

1986 — Chriss Homan, hockey

1985 — Tiina Kantola, skiing/cross country

Alaska Born and Raised Award, presented by GCI

2020 — Anna Darnell, Anchorage, skiing

2019 — Hannah Wandersee, Kodiak, women’s basketball