ACS girls hold off Barrow for tournament title

Dallas Dickerson and Sarah Geagel each tossed in 12 points Saturday to lead the Anchorage Christian girls basketball team past Barrow 43-40 in the championship in the ACS Invitational.

Free throws decided the game. Trailing by one point, 41-40, Barrow missed four free throws in the final minute. ACS, meanwhile, scored its final two points from the foul line for the final margin.

Barrow was 19 of 35 from the line for the game and 6 of 12 in the fourth quarter.

Dickerson and Geagel combined for 11 points in the fourth quarter to keep the Whalers at bay.

Lynette Hepa poured in 16 points for Barrow to lead all scorers and teammate Angela Miguel chipped in 10 points.

In consolation play, Hutchison took third place with a 65-50 win over Valdez, South secured fifth place with a 57-42 win over Glennallen and Bethel ran away from Skyview with a 57-31 win in the seventh-place game.

Hutchison used strong second and fourth quarters to generate victory. Mimi Wood scored 15 and Kiana Edwards 12 to lead the winners.

Valdez' Alex Derifield completed an impressive tournament, surpassing 20 points for the third straight game. She drained six 3-pointers and finished with a game-high 29 points. Marian Wamsley added 12 for the Buccaneers.

Taylor Murray turned in a big second half for South, racking up 15 of her game-high 20 points after the break. Sierra Mains paced South in the early going, scoring all 13 of her points in the first half. Sabrina Ungaro chipped in 11 points for the Wolverines.

Ariana Dougall topped Glennallen with nine points.

A 19-point second quarter helped Bethel put away Skyview. Bethel's Rebecca Brink knocked in seven of her game-high 20 in the second frame.

Samantha Reynolds led Skyview with eight points, all of them coming in the second half.

ACS Lime Solar/Pepsi Invitational

All-tournament team


Dallas Dickerson (MVP), ACS; Kiana Edwards, Hutchison; Angela Miguel, Barrow; Sabrina Ungaro, South; Dana Chrestman, Barrow; Hillary Lowery, Barrow; Sarah Gaegel, ACS; Lynette Hepa, Barrow; Mimi Wood, Hutchison; Alex Derifield, Valdez.