Alaska sports digest for Feb. 12

uaa women's basketball

Burns honored

Instrumental in two big home victories for the UAA women's basketball team last week, Kylie Burns was named the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Red Lion Player of the Week on Monday.

The 5-foot-9 forward scored a career-high 22 points in a 93-82 win over Seattle Pacific and notched her second double-double of the season with 11 points and 11 rebounds in a 61-55 win over Montana State-Billings. Burns also made two clutch free throws with 19 seconds left in the game against Billings.

The award is a first for Burns, but the fourth earned by the UAA women. Sasha King, Alysa Horn and Alli Madison received the honor earlier in the season.

UAA embarks on its last regular-season road trip this week, visiting Central Washington on Thursday and Northwest Nazarene on Saturday.

UAA track

GNAC honors Chelimo

After setting a Great Northwest Athletic Conference indoor record in a 5,000-meter race last week at the Husky Classic in Seattle, Wash., UAA's Micah Chelimo was named the Red Lion Men's Indoor Track Athlete of the Week on Monday.

Chelimo, a senior from Kenya, posted an automatic national qualifying time of 13 minutes, 51.19 seconds, breaking the old record of 14:12.10 set by Jordan Welling of Western Washington in 2011. Chelimo is one of two Division II runners to break the 14-minute barrier this season.

The Seawolves will compete in their first GNAC Indoor Championships this weekend in Nampa, Idaho.

Snowmachine racing

Estes takes pro division

Racers braved rain and snow last weekend at the Mat-Su Resort, where Mike Estes won the pro division of Ice Racing Alaska snowmachine race.

Estes rode his Polaris 800 to victory ahead of runner-up Tyler Bogert, who also used a Polaris 800.

Mat-Su Vintage Snowmachine Racing Club

At Mat-Su resort

IRA Pro -- 1) Mike Estes, Polaris 800; 2) Tyler Bogert, Polaris 800; 3) Tony Hardwick, Yamaha 700.

IRA Semi-Pro -- 1) Cassi Ewing, Ski-Doo; 2) Zack Weisz, Polaris 800; 3) Dave Page, Yamaha 700.


0-500cc -- 1) Robby Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 2) Devin Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 3) Tim Schachle, Yamaha SS440.

Juniors -- 1) Billy Downey, Yamaha ET300; 2) Kade Parker, TX340; 3) Vincent Coverdell, Yamaha ET300.

45 and older -- 1) Craig Clayton, Yamaha SRX440; 2) Chuck Balzarini, El Tigre 6000; 3) Mike Johnson, Arctic Cat el Tigre 440.

60 and older -- 1) Ron Soule, Arctic Cat Pantera 5000; 2) Dave Locklear, Polaris TX440.

Women's -- 1) Shyla Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 2) Kelcy Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 3) Shayla Moore, Yamaha SS440.

Any single Cyl/0-250cc Twin Fan-FA -- 1) Lucas Parker, Yamaha ET250; 2) Dave Jensen, Polaris Colt SS; 3) Luke Coverdell, Yamaha ET250.

0-340cc Twin Fan-FA -- 1) Tyson Sena, Yamaha ET340; 2) Charles Eppolito, John Deere Spitfire 340; 3) Dave Jensen, Polaris Colt SS.

IFS Open -- 1) 700 Tim Titus, Polaris Indy 400; 2) Lyndon Thomas, Yamaha SRX440; 3) Larry Cummings, Yamaha Exciter 570.

Open 600cc -- 1) Robby Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 2) Devin Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 3) Michael Hardy, Yamaha EX440; 4) James Schachle, Yamaha SS440; 5) Martin Brown, Merc Snow Twister, 340.


Mendivil, Velenzuela best in doubles

Jorge Mendivil and Carlos Velenzuela teamed to win the open division in an Alaska State Handball Association doubles tournament last weekend at The Alaska Club Midtown.

Sushil Wanigatunga and Mike Flisk finished second in the open division.

Open division -- 1) Jorge Mendivil/Carlos Valenzuela; 2) Sushil Wanigatunga/Mike Flisk; 3) Erik Knight/Steve Kari. A division -- 1) R Curtner/C Curtner; 2) Pat Crowley/Isidro Avila; 3) Julie Jordon/Peter Putzier. B division -- 1) Louis Rasic/Jim Arlington; 2) Tony Fisher/Scott Norman; 3) Myoung Kim/Dean Diama. Masters -- 1) Brett Miller/J.R. Lugo; 2) Steve Kari/Mike Spillane; 3) Sushil Wanigatunga/George Petering. 60 and older -- 1) Rich Curtner/Terry Manning; 2) John Neill/Lew Allen; 3) Ron Todd/Gordon Franke. Mixed doubles -- 1) Maria Lee/Mike Flisk; 2) Julia Lugo/Dean Diama; 3) Pam Sullivan/Jim Arlington.


Chelf, Best win

Josua Chelf and Heather Best each conquered difficult, snowy conditions to win 60-mile races at the inaugural Trio fat-tire bike races in Talkeetna last weekend, Chelf topping the men's division and Best winning the women's division.

Chelf finished in 7 hours, 1 minute, 56 seconds to beat out Tim Bernston, who clocked 7:15:40.

Best posted 7:14:41, more than seven minutes ahead of runner-up Kara Oney (7:21:59).

There were 87 riders competing, some riding in a 20-mile race. Ryan Greef won the men's 20-mile race, and Tazlina Mannix took the women's.

Trio fat tire bike race results

In Talkeetna


60-mile race -- 1) Joshua Chelf, 7:01:56; 2) Tim Berntson, 7:15:40; 3) Jeff Oatley, 7:33:22; 4) Kevin Breitenbach, 8:20:16; 5) Kevin Murphy, 8:37:00; 6) Nicolas Baudin, 9:00:06; 7) Joe Pollack, 10:31:05; 8) John Lackey (1 lap), 5:03:56; 9) Joel Homan (1 lap), 5:57:49; 10) Ben Abbot (1 lap), 6:07:01.

20-mile race -- 1) Ryan Greef, 2:02:02; 2) Darin Marin, 2:18:36; 3) Casey Fagerquist, 2:29:31; 4) Michael Vania, 2:35:54; 5) Chuck Mangold, 2:45:22; 6) Chris Turner, 3:01:15; 7) Will Boardman, 3:05:06; 8) Las Matz, 3:06:34; 9) Gregory Pavellas, 3:38:21; 10) Jim Sweeney, 3:45:16.


60-mile race -- 1) Heather Best, 7:14:41; 2) Kara Oney, 7:21:59; 3) Laurel Brady, 8:02:46; 4) Amy Breen, 4:06:18; 5) Julie Garcia, 5:20:04; 6) Casey Richter, 6:24:10. \

20-mile race -- 1) Tazlina Mannix, 3:01:41; 2) Shelly James, 4:10:57; 3) Heike Merkel, 4:39:16; 4) Katherina Merchant, 4:42:01; 5) Erica Betts, 4:47:59; 6) Danial Doty, 5:18:22; 7) Susan Teel, 5:41:29; 8) Pam Todd, 5:45:25; 9) Ti Conkle, 5:59:16; 10) Angela Burris, 6:13:43.

Anchorage Daily News