Running sensation Allie Ostrander, mushing champion Dallas Seavey and Special Olympics medalist Bobby Hill named to Alaska Sports Hall of Fame

Running sensation Allie Ostrander, mushing champion Dallas Seavey and Special Olympics medalist Bobby Hill have been named to the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2024.

Joining the trio of athletes is a moment: Scott Gomez being named NHL Rookie of the Year in 2000.

“We are inducting three contemporary athletes who are still building their resumes, but our selection panel decided it was the right time,” said Alaska Sports Hall of Fame executive director Harlow Robinson said in a release.

“Each of them has achieved greatness within their respective sports at this point in their careers and each of them have brought so much pride to Alaskans over the years.”

Ostrander grew up as a standout runner from the Kenai Peninsula, with both six junior wins at Mount Marathon and championships in distance races in both high school track and cross-country.

She also won the women’s division at Mount Marathon in 2017 and was a 13-time All-American in track and cross country at Boise State.

Eagle River’s Bobby Hill has competed in Special Olympics for more than 30 years. He has earned 10 powerlifting medals and made three trips to the World Summer Games.


Most recently, Hill earned one gold and three silver medals at the 2023 Berlin Games.

[With medals and mettle, Special Olympics Alaska athletes shine at 2023 World Games]

Dallas Seavey has quickly become among the most decorated mushers in Iditarod history. In his first 13 runs, he took five titles, tying him with Rick Swenson for the most career victories.

His 2021 win was also the fastest of all time, in a time of 7 days, 14 hours, 57 seconds. That was nearly two full days faster than the previous record set by Thomas Waerner in 2020.

Gomez has now been inducted into the Hall of Fame three times. He was honored as an individual and the moment he brought the Stanley Cup back to Anchorage in 2003.

Gomez, a center, led all rookies in scoring with 19 goals and 51 assists for 70 total points.

Ostrander, Seavey and Hill will be officially inducted at ceremony and banquet in April at the Anchorage Museum. This will be the 16th class inducted into the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame.