Alaska News

Complete list of Daily News Iditarod Hall of Fame members

Dan Seavey and Joanne Potts are the newest class of inductees in the Daily News' Iditarod Hall of Fame. The inaugural class of 10 was enshrined in 1997, and 13 more selections have been made since then.

Readers submitted more than 75 nominations last month. From those, selections were made by a panel of media members that included Bob Hallinen, Richard Murphy, Jeff Schultz, Eric Sowl and Kevin Wells.

Here are the members of the Hall of Fame:

Joe Delia

Bob Sept

Jerry Austin

Dick Mackey


Herbie Nayokpuk

Libby Riddles

Emmitt Peters

Joe Redington Sr.

Rick Swenson

Susan Butcher

Martin Buser

Jeff King

Don Bowers

Doug Swingley

Leo Rasmussen

DeeDee Jonrowe

Jon Van Zyle

Jan and Dick Newton

Lance Mackey

Larry Thompson

Doug Katchatag


Joanne Potts

Dan Seavey