High School Sports

South shooters set the pace at Jordyn Durr Memorial Cup riflery meet

Kylee Wagendorf, Trinity Heine and Wrangle Kruckenberg were among the top performers at the Jordyn Durr Memorial Cup riflery meet Friday and Saturday at Service High.

Wagendorf, a sophomore on the South High riflery team, was the top individual shooter in the precision class with a score of 674.

Heine, who competes for South’s Air Force ROTC program, won the sporter class with a 605.9. Shooters in the sporter class use lighter-weight rifles than those in the precision class.

Kruckenberg, who competes for the Service Navy JROTC program, finished second in the precision class with a score of 669.8 and was the only shooter to collect three points, which earned him a Gold Distinguished Shooting Badge from the Civilian Marksmanship Program.

Grace Fernandez was right behind Kruckenberg to place third in the precision class with 669.6 points. She shot a perfect prone score of 200 for the Borealis Bullseyes.

Team titles went to Eagle River High School in the precision class and South Air Force JROTC in the sporter class.

The meet drew 98 high school shooters from Anchorage and the Valley.


Precision class

Individual results — 1) Kylee Wagendorf, South High, 674.0; 2) Wrangle Kruckenberg, Service Navy JROTC, 669.8; 3) Grace Fernandez, Borealis Bullseyes, 669.6.

Team scores — 1) Eagle River High 2,260 (Emma Mackenzie 569, Sierra Wanca 567, Ava Perkins 562, Rylee Price 562); 2) Service Navy JROTC 2,245 (Wrangle Kruckenberg 578, Patrick Noble 558, Josey Baty 556, Theo Chau 553); 3) Dimond High 2,243 (Malia Main 574, Jerica Manaois 570, Sophia Wagner 550, Alexander Jones 549).

Sporter class

Individual results — 1) Trinity Heine, South Air Force JROTC, 605.9; 2) Jeffrey Wu, South Air Force JROTC, 599.8; 3) Alekzandr Wiley, South Air Force JROTC, 583.5.

Team scores — 1) South Air Force JROTC 2,031 (Trinity Heine 522, Jeffrey Wu 519, Alekzandr Wiley 502, Estilita Waters 488); 2) Colony Army JROTC 1,900 (Alex Johnson 494, Katrina Clayton 480, Kassidy Allen 463, Joseph Gehring 463); 3) East Army JROTC 1,875 (Ben Bourdukofsky 497, Ceezenger Yang 482, Ezzra Moody 456, Vincent Cuenco 440).