High School Sports

Bartlett’s Amelia ‘Uhila, East’s Hasaan Herrington claim conference MVP honors in basketball

Amelia ‘Uhila of Bartlett High and Hasaan Herrington East High, who led their basketball teams to undefeated records during the regular season, have been named MVPs of the Cook Inlet Conference.

‘Uhila was one of two Golden Bears to earned all-CIC honors, joining Alapsese Matautia. Herrington was one of four Thunderbirds to make the team, along with Jahbez Sellers, Jayden Voliva and Damarion Delaney.

Garnering coach-of-the-year honors were Josi Schultz, the Chugiak boys coach, and Laura Ingram, the East girls coach.

The CIC tournament tipped off Tuesday with four games, including one big upset — the Eagle River boys picked up their first victory of the season by knocking off fifth-seeded Service 58-43.

The Wolves outscored Service 20-9 in the final quarter to secure the victory. Marcus Andrews had eight of his game-high 18 points in the fourth quarter to spark Eagle River, which got double-figure scoring from Mehki Womack (17 points) and Jack Lerch (15). Chris Blalock led Service with 15 and Dylan Westlake added 13.

In the other boys game, Traivar Jackson dropped in 22 points to lead West past Bartlett 55-52. The Eagles rallied from a seven-point halftime deficit by outscoring Bartlett 25-15 in the second half. Willie Zamora had seven of his 15 points in the fourth quarter for West; Bartlett was led by Bishop Tosi’s 13 points and Geo Lizardo’s 10.

In girls games, Chugiak routed Eagle River 53-23 and South edged Service 48-41. No details were reported on either game.


Action continues Thursday through Saturday at West High, with title games scheduled for 5:30 p.m. (girls) and 8:30 p.m. (boys).



Coach of the year — Josi Schultz, Chugiak

MVP — Hasaan Herrington, East

Bishop Tosi, Bartlett

Jackson Wall, Chugiak

Jahbez Sellers, East

Owen Lewis, Chugiak

Reece Ivanoff, South

Traivar Jackson, West

Dylan Westlake, Service

Luke Johnston, Dimond

Jayden Voliva, East

Zach Jenkins, Dimond

AJ Yabut, South

Damarion Delaney, East


Marcus Andrews, Eagle River

Morgan Grant, Chugiak


Coach of the year — Laura Ingram, East

MVP — Amelia ‘Uhila, Bartlett

Ariana Lewis, Chugiak

Jordan Zachery, West

Caitlin Wachmann, Chugiak


Deajahnae Bobbitt, Dimond

Kristi Anderson, East

Angel Ioane, East

Olivia Heartwell, South

Julietter Adlawan, West

Alapsese Matautia, Bartlett

Kali Hibbert, Dimond

Genevieve Mahe, Service

Lupe Vaaia, West

Caitlin Brower, Dimond

Eden Hopson, Service

CIC tournament



Tuesday’s results

Eagle River 58, Service 43

West 55, Bartlett 52

Thursday’s games

1:30 p.m. — Eagle River vs. South


5:30 p.m. — West vs. Dimond


Tuesday’s results

Chugiak 53, Eagle River 23

South 48, Service 41

Thursday’s games

3:30 p.m. — East vs. Chugiak

7:30 p.m. — West vs. South