High School Sports

West skiers take top spots in classic races at Alaska state cross country skiing championships

A pair of West High skiers took the top spots on the podium during the second day of the Alaska state cross country skiing championships Friday at Kincaid Park.

West senior Murphy Kimball won a dramatic two-man battle with South sophomore Vebjorn Flagstad in the 7.5K classic ski race on the boys side. Kimball finished the race in 19:34.8, just a tenth of a second ahead of Flagstad’s 19:34.9.

The two skiers were in a league of their own, finishing a full 25 seconds ahead of the final podium finisher, West’s Cole Flowers (20.00.2).

In the girls division, West’s Merridy Littell took the top spot in a classic race that was nearly as close as the boys competition. Littell (23:41.6) edged past teammate Piper Sears (23:42.1) by a half-second to take the title.

Soldotna sophomore Tania Boonstra placed third in a time of 23:43.6.

At the Division II level, Kenai’s Emily Moss won for the second day in a row. After taking the freestyle win Thursday, she won the classic race Friday with a time of 27:03.0. The DII boys also saw a repeat winner, as Gregory Fallon took the top spot in the 7.5K classic a day after winning the freestyle race. His time of 21:34.0 was more than 25 seconds faster than his next closest competitor.

[Service and Kenai sweep top podium spots on Day 1 of Alaska state cross country skiing championships]


The championships conclude Saturday at Kincaid Park with mixed technique relays starting at 11 a.m. and the final Skimeister results.

Alaska state cross country skiing championships


at Kincaid Park


Mass start classic 7.5K

Division I (overall) top 10

1. Murphy Kimball, West, 19:34.8; 2. Vebjorn Flagstad, South, 19:34.9; 3. Cole Flowers, West, 20:00.2; 4. Coby Marvin, Colony, 20:05.3; 5. Blake Hanley, 20:13.4; 6. Oskar Flora, Service, 20:13.5; 7. Logan Cuddy, 20:15.3; 8. Miles Numme-Worrell, East, 20:15.6; 9. Jack Leveque, Service, 20:30.5; 10. Gabriel Black, Colony, 20:30.6.

Division II podium

1. Gregory Fallon, Kenai, 21:34.0; 2. Jody Goodrich, Homer, 21:59.6; 3. Jack Laker, Kenai, 22:23.7.


Mass start classic 7.5K

Division I (overall) top 10

1. Merridy Littell, West, 23:41.6; 2. Piper Sears, West, 23:42.1; 3. Tania Boonstra, Soldotna, 23:43.6; 4. Miyana Kam-Magruder, Service, 23:43.9; 5. Elliot Sensabaugh, 23:47.3; 6. Olivia Soderstrom, Service, 23:47.6; 7. Mia Stiassny, South, 23:48.6; 8. Alise Elliott, South, 24:08.1; 9. Maya Tirpack, South, 24:48.6; 10. Berit Meyers, West, 24:51.8.

Division II podium

1. Emily Moss, Kenai, 27:03.0; 2. Daisy Walker, Homer, 27:19.3; 3. Isla Crouse, Kenai, 27:53.0.