Seven apply for upcoming vacancy on Alaska Supreme Court

Seven attorneys, all with at least 15 years of legal experience, have applied for the Alaska Supreme Court seat that will become vacant in June with the retirement of Chief Justice Joel Bolger.

The Alaska Judicial Council announced the applicants in a written statement on Friday. After interviewing the applicants, holding a public hearing and soliciting the opinions of the state’s attorneys, the council will nominate at least two of the applicants for the soon-to-be-vacant seat. Gov. Mike Dunleavy will have the final choice, with his selection expected in early summer.

The applicants include:

Dani Crosby, a Superior Court judge in Anchorage

Jennifer Stuart Henderson, a Superior Court judge in Anchorage

Yvonne Lamoureaux, a Superior Court judge in Anchorage

Margaret Paton-Walsh, a chief assistant attorney general for the Department of Law


Paul Roetman, a Superior Court judge in Kotzebue

Ben Whipple, an attorney in private practice in Palmer

Jonathan Woodman, a Superior Court judge in Palmer

This will be Dunleavy’s second appointment to the state’s highest court. In July, he picked Dario Borghesan, an attorney in the Department of Law, to replace Justice Craig Stowers.

All of the applicants for the current vacancy — except for Whipple — also applied for the Stowers vacancy, which had eight applicants. In that case, the Judicial Council nominated Crosby, Henderson and Lamoureaux alongside Borghesan, who was ultimately selected.

The council’s membership will be slightly different this time. Dunleavy appointee Kristie Babcock of Soldotna will replace Loretta Bullard of Nome on March 1.

James Brooks

James Brooks was a Juneau-based reporter for the ADN from 2018 to May 2022.