Q&As with Alaska’s U.S. House candidates in the 2022 special primary election

Forty-eight candidates are running in the June 11 special primary election for Alaska’s lone U.S. House seat after the death of U.S. Rep. Don Young in March.

Forty-eight candidates are running in the June 11 special primary election for Alaska’s lone U.S. House seat after the death of longtime U.S. Rep. Don Young in March.

The Anchorage Daily News reached out to all 48 candidates to ask about their qualifications, why they’re running and what their top priority would be if elected. Thirty-three replied to the survey.

Ballots went out to about 560,000 voters in late April. The deadline to register to vote or update your mailing address with the state Division of Elections is May 12. In the special primary, which is an all-mail election, ballots must be postmarked on or before election day, which is June 11.

The nonpartisan, open primary is Alaska’s first under a new statewide election system approved by voters in 2020. Voters are being asked to pick one candidate, then mail their ballot back to the Division of Elections by the June 11 deadline. The top four vote-getters in the June special primary will advance to the Aug. 16 special general election, which will use ranked-choice voting to determine who will serve out the rest of Young’s term.

[Q&A: How to vote in Alaska’s first all-mail election]

You can read each U.S. House candidate’s response in the links below. Scroll farther down for answers from individual candidates. Find more coverage of Alaska’s 2022 congressional elections here.


What in your background qualifies you to represent Alaskans in Congress?

Why are you running for U.S. Congress in Alaska?

What would be your top priority if elected to Congress?

What is your position on abortion?

Would you support expanding the size of the Supreme Court?

• • •


Click on each name to see all of that candidate’s responses

Dennis “Denny” W. Aguayo (nonpartisan) - did not respond

Jay R. Armstrong* (R)

Brian T. Beal (undeclared) - did not respond

Tim Beck (undeclared) - responded only to second part of survey

Nick Begich* (R)

Gregg B. Brelsford* (undeclared)

Robert Brown (nonpartisan)

Chris Bye* (Libertarian)

John T. Callahan (R) - did not respond

Arlene Carle (nonpartisan)

Santa Claus (undeclared)

John B. Coghill Jr.* (R)

Christopher S. Constant* (D)

Lady Donna Dutchess* (nonpartisan) - did not respond

Otto H. Florschutz III (R)

Laurel A. Foster (nonpartisan)

Thomas “Tom” R. Gibbons (R)

Karyn Griffin (undeclared)

Al Gross* (nonpartisan)

Andrew J. Halcro (nonpartisan)

Ted S. Heintz (Libertarian)

William “Bill” D. Hibler III (nonpartisan) - responded only to second part of survey

John Wayne Howe (Alaska Independence Party)

David Hughes* (undeclared) - did not respond

Don Knight (nonpartisan)

Jeff B. Lowenfels* (nonpartisan)

Robert “Bob” Lyons* (R) - did not respond

Anne M. McCabe (nonpartisan) - did not respond

Mike E. Melander (R)

Sherry M. Mettler (undeclared)

Mike Milligan (D)

J.R. Myers (Libertarian)

Emil Notti (D) - did not respond

Robert Ornelas (American Independent Party)

Sarah Palin* (R)

Silvio E. Pellegrini (undeclared)

Mary S. Peltola* (D)

Joshua C. Revak* (R)

Maxwell Sumner (R) - did not respond

Tara M. Sweeney* (R)

David Thistle (undeclared)

Ernest F. Thomas (D) - did not respond

Richard “Clayton” Trotter (R) - did not respond

Bradley D. Welter (R) - did not respond

Jason G. Williams (undeclared) - did not respond

Jo Woodward (R)

Adam L. Wool (D)

Stephen Wright (R)

*Candidates who are also running in Alaska’s regular U.S. House primary election in August